Posted by: Hil | August 29, 2008

Happy Friday!

IMG_2431  

Today was a no-class day in which my primary goal was to acquire some clothes suitable for interviewing.  (The primary problem with losing substantial amounts of weight is that your clothes no longer fit.)  Lawyers tend to be a formal and image-conscious bunch, and I knew that my wardrobe consisted of things that were either too informal or too ill-fitting to show up to an interview in.  I plan to get my existing suits altered at some point, but given that my interviews start on Tuesday, I knew that those couldn’t be ready in time.  So new clothes it was.  Given that I needed them anyway, this extra bit of motivation was probably good for me.  Breakfast  was half an Ezekiel English muffin with peanut butter and some fruit drizzled with agave nectar.  That fruit is all thawed from frozen, btw.  I am a huge fan of frozen fruit.  If you can’t a certain type of fruit at peak freshness where you live, or if something is just out of season, frozen fruit is a great, economical alternative.  Even my ancient, dirt-cheap microwave has a respectable defrost setting…I just pop in the fruit for a couple of minutes and I have a great side dish for breakfast.   I thought of combining the fruit with yogurt, but didn’t want to crush the raspberries.  Instead, I followed up breakfast with a mid-morning homemade cappuccino.

Lunch was flavorful, pungent and delicious:  a whole wheat pita pizza with spinach, goat cheese, sliced kalamata olives, and thinly sliced garlic.  And, of course, I always garnish my pizza with a pinch of crushed red pepper.  I loved the strong flavors of the pizza, and it was filling without being too heavy.

IMG_2439

I am running out of veggies and need to get to the store, but I did find a nice handful of grape tomatoes to round out lunch.

IMG_2436

After lunch, it was off to the mall.  I love this particular mall.  It’s outdoors and has a fantastic selection to chose from.  So I got to wander around in the sunshine and got a good productive shopping trip in.  I got a great pair of pants in the same material as my existing interview suit, so I can just pair those with a suit jacket I already have for my Tuesday interview.  (Thank you Banana Republic!)  I also picked up a number of other professional wardrobe staples and spent a leftover gift certificate from my birthday on a mix of fun things.  I completely struck out on finding a new pair of jeans, but on the whole, it was a very successful trip.

I find shopping an extremely tiring and frustrating endeavor, and I tend to avoid it when I can possibly get away with it.  (Thus, the shameful state of my wardrobe.)  While this was a pretty successful trip, I still found myself in need of some sustenance when it was completed.  So I stopped by my favorite little crepe shop.  This wonderful spot makes authentic French crepes that, for some delightful reason, are all whole grain:  the sweet crepes are whole wheat and the savory crepes are buckwheat.  My favorite is topped simply with lemon juice, butter and sugar, but I decided to be adventuresome today and ordered a crepe stuffed with baked apple and topped with real maple syrup and a tiny dollop of vanilla ice cream.

IMG_2442

This was amazing.  The flavors went beautifully together and the size of the ice cream garnish was perfect:  just enough to get a bit with each bite of crepe, but not so much that it left the whole dish in a soggy melted mess.  I’m thinking that sometime this fall, I may have to try baked apples with vanilla ice cream topped with maple syrup.  The flavor combination was fantastic.

IMG_2443

I was still pretty tired when I got home and my fridge was pretty empty, so I went with a simple pasta dish.  I cooked up some whole wheat spaghetti in a mixture of water and Imagine vegetable broth.  (I’ve found that for these sauce-less pasta dishes, it’s really essential to get good flavor into the pasta itself.  Particularly if you don’t want to use a ton of oil, it’s a very good idea to use a richly flavored liquid to cook the pasta.  Imagine vegetable broth is great for this.)  While the pasta was cooking, I sauteed some grape tomato halves in a skillet with olive oil.  After a few minutes, I added chopped kale along with a splash of white wine (broth would work too) and some minced garlic.  I gave it a good stir and then covered it for the rest of the cooking time–I find that the tough stems of the kale cook very quickly in a covered pan.  When the components were done, I mixed them and added some crumbled goat cheese, a little extra olive oil, salt, pepper and crushed red pepper flakes.  It was delightful.  I’ve been craving these simple, sauce-less, veggie and pasta dishes a lot lately.  They are so good and filling and you can use whatever you happen to have in your fridge.

IMG_2449

Responses

  1. Mm, what a delicious day of food! I love the look of that pizza – goat cheese makes any meal that much better.

    And wow, I haven’t had a good crepe since I was fortunate enough to go to Paris last year. That’s really great that your shop offers whole grain versions – yours looks so light and satisfying!

  2. I just discovered the joys of making pizza on whole wheat pita’s.

    Those crepes look so good!

  3. Wow! All your eats look so yummy!! The pizza and pasta….and CREPES! I’m drooling!!!

    So glad you found some nice clothes…and thanks for the frozen fruit tips….I will probably incorporated more frozen fruit into my diet as the summer ends.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Hooray for a no-class day!! Glad that your Friday was fun 🙂

    Oh man, those crepes look DIVINE!!

    Happy Saturday!

  5. Frozen fruit is amazing. I don’t think I am capable of letting a day go by without having some. Pretty sure I prefer it to fresh fruit a lot of the time.

    How do you manage to have me drooling over every single one of your meals? Pizza, crepes AND pasta. Oh. my. yum.

  6. Seriously, why is your food so beautiful?

    For interview suits, I recommend getting a couple neutral suits and lots of tops/shells for under the jacket? Do you wear pants and skirts? If so, then get a suit that has both so you get two suits for the price of 1.5. 🙂

    Also, don’t listen to other people talk about their fabulous interviews and offers.

    Heather

  7. Heather–I have a couple of good neutral suits, but the pants and skirts are too big for me, thus the need to replace or alter them. I am also a huge fan of the pants and skirt to go with the same jacket. And I am doing my very best to avoid the braggers. Thanks for the advice. 🙂

    Everyone–Thank you very much for the compliments. I think that my food is pretty because I make a point of trying make it pretty. Beautiful food is much more fun to eat! I will post about this question soon.

  8. crepes!!!!! i just love them so much. savoury/sweet, it really doesn’t matter. the area that my uni is in, is a central part of london that is kind of like a french district – with a french school, french bookshops, restaurants & cafes etc. and luckily, there is an amazing crepe place there – now you’ve really made me want to go there!

    also, i love sauceless pasta, and thank you so much for giving the tip about cooking the pasta in broth – never ever thought of that before. will definitely give that a try! genius!

  9. What a cool idea to cook pasta in broth! I’ll have to try that soon!

    Mmmm, those crepes look delicious!

  10. Ohh my word your food looks so good.. the pita looks amazing except I am not an olive fan! Goat cheese is a def staple of mine to make dishes creamy and tasty and a little goes a long way! I just recently had a wrap that i pressed and added goat cheese and it was so good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

