Posted by: Hil | August 30, 2008

Arugula Salad with Shrimp and Tangerine

IMG_2455

The in-laws were in town today, so the morning was filling with a visit to the beach and lots of tasty Japanese food.  I ate more tempura than I really needed, so I wasn’t hungry for a big dinner.  But lack of extreme hunger is no reason not to whip up something beautiful and nourishing.  So we went for light, pretty, vegetable-filled food.  I dressed arugula with a lemon-dijon vinaigrette and topped it with tangerine slices and some piping hot chili-rubbed shrimp.  Shrimp is great when you aren’t very hungry because it is festive and nutritious, but low in calories.  3 oz. of shrimp is only about 80 calories and 3 oz. is a very generous pile!  On a normal night, I might have added some white beans or a side of toasted bread for extra fiber and carbohydrates, but today I honestly didn’t want more.  I couldn’t even finish the amount I had on my plate.

At times like this when I have over-indulged a bit and I’m just not very hungry, it’s very tempting to skip dinner or just eat a piece of fruit.  But I almost always regret it if I skip dinner–I just seem to start the next day feeling off-balance.  There is something so settling and comforting to returning to the routine and form of a normal meal, even if it is lighter than usual.  And after a lot of heavy food, veggies always make me feel better, even if I think I don’t feel particularly hungry.  At such times, a simple salad or bowl of vegetable soup can work wonders.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a fun-filled, delicious weekend so far!!

  2. Mmm. That looks good and I like your philosophy about eating a little dinner instead of just skipping. Sometimes I think if I didn’t have the family to cook for, I’d rather just not bother eating. Not so good I suppose. Here’s another arugula combo if you’re interested. Cheers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

