Posted by: Hil | August 31, 2008

Sunday Morning Eats

IMG_2458

I woke up this morning very early and very hungry.  After a light dinner like last night’s this isn’t surprising.  So I went for a good filling hit of vegetables, fiber, protein and fat:  a toasted Ezekiel English muffin topped with arugula and scrambled eggs with chevre.   To drink, I had a glass of v-8 juice spiked with hot sauce.  Often times, I enjoy eating breakfast in a leisurely fashion and lazing around with a cup of coffee.  Not today.  I was full of energy without a drop of caffeine in my system.  I ended up going on a brisk morning walk before the husband even stumbled out of bed.

IMG_2460

As is our custom, we went out for a nice lunch at our favorite Indian buffet.  The restaurant offers complimentary champagne at weekend brunch, which is always a festive touch.

IMG_2466

The buffet recently reworked its menu, so I got an unusually crowded plate trying bites of all of the new dishes.  Highlights included a tumeric scented cauliflower dish (front of the plate) and a delightful creamed spinach with chunks of chicken  (left side).  I love the strong flavors of Indian food…I always fill up so quickly because my palate is so satiated. 

IMG_2461

To go with all of the warm, spiced dishes, I wanted something cool and refreshing.  So I found some marinated cucumber slices…

IMG_2462

…and some sweet, juicy orange wedges.

IMG_2464

And what would an Indian brunch be without plenty of fresh naan?   If it comes out cold, I’ll often pass or just take a small bite, but today it was piping hot and perfect.  I left brunch happy, but quite a bit more full than normal.  I don’t think I’ll be needing any afternoon snacks today.

IMG_2465  

Given that it is a three day weekend and we have plenty of time to cook, we have lots of exciting things planned for dinner.  I’ll be sure to report on how everything turns out!

Responses

  1. Oooh, what a lovely Indian feast!

  2. P.S. – Looking forward to seeing your dinner! 🙂

  3. Indian food is one of my all time favorites. I would request it for EVERY birthday dinner growing up…and even a couple times I convinced my fam to forget the Thanksgiving turkey and grab some naan and chicken curry and have an Indian Feast instead. I love their cauliflower dishes, chicken tikka masala, aloo gobi, palak paneer…boy, the list is never ending!!

    Can you tell you made me hungry?!

    Anyways, I’ll state the obvious…….. YOUR LUNCH LOOKS AMAZING!

    Have a great night and rest of your long weekend!!

  4. Wow, what a lovely brunch!

  5. I love champagne, and at brunch I love when it is mixed with oj:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

