Posted by: Hil | September 3, 2008

Happy Wednesday

SV402545

Breakfast today was smoked salmon on half of a toasted sprouted grain English muffin with a little bit of light Laughing Cow cheese for a touch of creaminess.  Because breakfast would be incomplete without fruit, I finished off the last of my sweet, juicy pineapple.

SV402542 

Lunch today was an old favorite revisted:  a whole wheat wrap with hummus, roasted red peppers and baby spinach.  I took the photo before wrapping it so that you could see all of the beautiful filling.

SV402546 (2) 

To go with, I had some clementines and a mini can of V-8 juice.  Breakfast was pretty light and left me pretty hungry, so I ended up buying a cup of lentil vegetable soup at school to supplement lunch.  Lots of vegetables and fruit in this lunch!  It can be hard to eat enough of them on school days when I don’t have much time to chop and prepare things, but I feel so much better when I do.  

SV402550

And there’s nothing to complete a lunch like a square or two of dark chocolate…this time with hazelnuts!

SV402553

For an afternoon snack, I packed some homemade “trail mix”:  a combination of dried apple rings, pecans, and Nature’s Path omega plus cereal.  Nuts and dried fruit alone are a great pick-me-up, but whole grain cereal can add some extra crunch and volume.  I only ate about half of this…it was very filling.

SV402551 

Dinner tonight was fast, well-rounded and filling.  To start, I had some leftover simple squash soup.  Like all soup, it was even better the next day.

SV402555

And another simple pasta dish:  whole wheat spaghetti with smoked salmon, asparagus, capers, lemon juice and olive oil.  Yum.

SV402561

Responses

  1. Those roasted red peppers are gorgeous! Your “wrap” looks like a Christmas present – haha, I’m cheesy 🙂

    I agree, nothing completes a meal like dark chocolate – and I love when it includes nuts!

  2. mm salmon!!! it’s so pretty with the asparagus too!

  3. the first picture looks like something i’ve been having for the last couple of days – mmm.

    and your pasta sounds and looks delicious – those simple kinds of pasta dishes (with salmon, my love) are the best.

  4. LOOOOOVE pineapple!!!!

  5. mmmm…chocolate and hazelnut, my favorite combo.


Leave a Reply

Categories

