Posted by: Hil | September 4, 2008

Chicken, Spinach and Roasted Red Pepper Quesadillas

SV402580

Quesadillas are such great comfort food:  there is nothing like gooey, melty cheese paired with crunchy tortilla.  And this is one of those comfort foods that it is surprisingly easy to make healthy.  In my opinion, if you are just going for gooey and melty, there is no reason not to use part-skim mozzarella instead of a full-fat cheese.  Honestly, I can barely taste the difference.  Pair that with a whole wheat tortilla and stuff it with some vegetables and maybe a bit of lean meat, and you have a very nutritionally respectable entree.  Today, I used leftover shredded rotisserie chicken breast, roasted red peppers, and wilted spinach in my filling.  They were slightly non-traditional fillings, but they tasted great.  I served my quesadilla with a side of black beans (cooked with olive oil, chili powder, cumin and oregano), roasted asparagus, and of course a generous dollop of salsa.

Responses

  1. Mmmm! Quick and tasty quesadillas were definitely a staple when I was living on my own, I love how the additions are seemingly endless and, like you said, healthy! Yours sounds great 🙂

  2. Great dish – love those beans, asparagus, and salsa meal components, especially!

  3. I love quesadillas, I haven’t made any in so long! Thanks for the inspiration!


Leave a Reply

Categories

