Posted by: Hil | September 4, 2008

Omnivorre’s One Hundred

This is fun.  Chocolate and Zucchini linked to a fun list of random foods that Andrew Wheeler of Very Good Taste thinks every omnivore should try at least once in his or her life.  The husband and I went through this, and I was amazed and jealous about how many he had tried that I hadn’t.  It’s amazing how bored I allow myself to get with food when there are so many amazing foods in the world that I have never even tried once.

Bold means I’ve tried the food.   Strikethrough means that I haven’t tried it and wouldn’t try it.

Anyone who would like to play along is welcome.  And please feel free to offer me reviews and recommendations with respect to any of the foods I haven’t tried that you have!

1. Venison
2. Nettle tea
3. Huevos rancheros 
4. Steak tartare
5. Crocodile
6. Black pudding
7. Cheese fondue 
8. Carp
9. Borscht
10. Baba ghanoush
11. Calamari
12. Phở 
13. PB&J sandwich 
14. Aloo gobi
15. Hot dog from a street cart
16. Epoisses
17. Black truffle
18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes (Apple wine is the husband’s favorite alcoholic beverage.)
19. Steamed pork buns
20. Pistachio ice cream 
21. Heirloom tomatoes
22. Fresh wild berries  (I loved to berry-pick as a kid)
23. Foie gras
24. Rice and beans
25. Brawn, or head cheese  (If someone served this to me in Germany, I would probably eat it, but I can’t imagine ever ordering it myself.)
26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper (I like spicy food, but I don’t like eating spicy things just to prove that I can)
27. Dulce de leche 
28. Oysters  (I want to try an oyster so badly!)
29. Baklava
30. Bagna cauda 
31. Wasabi peas
32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl
33. Salted lassi (I’ve only had mango, but I think I’d like the salted version)
34. Sauerkraut
35. Root bear float 
36. Cognac with a fat cigar (I love Cognac, but the cigar, not so much)
37. Clotted cream tea  (I’ve had tea with scones, but never the clotted cream)
38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O 
39. Gumbo (Unfortunately, I’ve only ever eaten this in a college dining hall)
40. Oxtail
41. Curried goat
42. Whole insects (One fried cricket at age 16.)
43. Phaal (I’d try it, but doubt I could finish a whole order)
44. Goat’s milk
45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/€80/$120 or more (I don’t have that kind of money to spend on alcohol, but if someone else bought it for me, I’d give it a try.)
46. Fugu (I’m not very interested in risking death for my food.)
47. Chicken tikka masala  (Delicious!)
48. Eel
49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut
50. Sea urchin
51. Prickly pear
52. Umeboshi 
53. Abalone  (I might have had this, but I’m not sure)
54. Paneer
55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal (I’ve actually never had a Big Mac.)
56. Spaetzle  (The husband makes these from scratch all the time)
57. Dirty gin martini
58. Beer above 8% ABV
59. Poutine
60. Carob chips
61. S’mores
62. Sweetbreads
63. Kaolin (Why would you?)
64. Currywurst
65. Durian
66. Frogs’ legs  (another maybe on this one…I can’t remember!)
67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake
68. Haggis
69. Fried plantain
70. Chitterlings, or andouillette  (Not sure I would be too crazy about eating this one…)
71. Gazpacho
72. Caviar and blini  (I’ve had caviar, but not with blini)
73. Louche absinthe
74. Gjetost, or brunost
75. Roadkill (And not going to, either!)
76. Baijiu
77. Hostess Fruit Pie
78. Snail
79. Lapsang souchong
80. Bellini  (I keep meaning to order one, but other things always seem better)
81. Tom yum
82. Eggs Benedict
83. Pocky
84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant  (One day….)
85. Kobe beef
86. Hare
87. Goulash  (Maybe?  I can’t remember if I’ve had this)
88. Flowers
89. Horse
90. Criollo chocolate  (Not sure…I’ve had a variety of high end chocolates, but I’m not sure about the type of bean.)
91. Spam
92. Soft shell crab
93. Rose harissa (other kinds of harissa, yes, but I’ve never had the rose variety)
94. Catfish
95. Mole poblano
96. Bagel and lox
97. Lobster Thermidor
98. Polenta
99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee
100. Snake

Responses

  1. I’m really surprised at how few people have tried venison! It’s probably my favorite meat – lean and delicious. You should definitely try it.

  2. I’m going to do this list right now! Although just in glancing over it, I don’t think I’ve tried or even heard of a good chunk of the foods on here. I really need to branch out my palette apparently!

  3. […] Posted September 4, 2008 Filed under: Uncategorized | Saw this on Hil’s blog and decided I would play along just for fun as well. It originally comes from […]

  4. Great list!

  5. […] Lemonator’s 100 Yesterday, Hil shared a list of ‘100 things that all omnivores should eat.’  I was inspired to participate, so […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

