Posted by: Hil | September 5, 2008

Happy Friday!

SV402583

For some reason this morning, I was having a craving for cold cereal.  I don’t eat a lot of cold cereal.  Generally speaking, I find it inferior in most ways to hot cereal or toast:  it’s more expensive, less tasty, and often has a lot of scary additives.  But if you are going to do cold cereal, do it right.  First, start with a reasonably healthy, tasty base.  Kashi and Nature’s Path make good ones.  Today I used Nature’s Path Flax Plus cereal, which are just some nice multibran flakes.  They aren’t overly sweetened, and the addition of flax and a bit of extra bran makes them very filling.  Next, I added a couple tablespoons of unsweetened granola, a few pecans, and some raisins and dried apple chunks.  I topped it with low fat milk, which I find much more filling with cereal than skim.

SV402581  

For lunch, I made a burrito with black beans, spinach, roasted peppers, scrambled egg, salsa and a little cheese.  I love black beans and eggs together in a burrito…it’s such a great savory combination.  This is the burrito pre-wrapping.  I also had a side of juicy grapes to go with it.

  SV402586

Dinner was a bowl of simple beef stew:  finely diced stew meat, celery, carrot and onion in a rich, rosemary-scented, roux-thickened broth.  Yum. 

SV402487 (2)

After a rich bowl of stew, my body wanted something clean and green to go with, so I wilted up some collard greens with red wine vinegar as a chaser.

 SV402494 (2)

With a glassful of wine and a handful of whole grain crackers, it was a great dinner.

Responses

  1. I love that cereal becuase thos eflakes are nice and thick and crunchy the millet ones are very good!

  2. I’m the same way – give me oatmeal ANY day (or everyday, haha 😉 ) over cold cereal! But hey, it’s good that you satisfied your craving for the cold stuff with a delicious variety 🙂

  3. I am on a cold cereal kick these days for some reason. Yours looks great!

  4. That cereal combo sounds delicious! I love how you are so in tune with what your body wants/needs.

    And love your dinner. I have never tried wilting collards in vinegar before, but now desperately want to try it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

