Posted by: lemonator | September 5, 2008

The Lemonator’s 100

Yesterday, Hil shared a listof ‘100 things that all omnivores should eat.’  I was inspired to participate, so here’s my list… you might enjoy the similarities and dissimilarities in what hil and I like… and while I may have had more of the ‘exotic’ items on the list, my aversion to most deserts led to her beating me by a single point!  Anyways, without further ado…

Oh, my scheme is a little different…

BOLD is for items that I have tried

Italics is for items that I’d never try.

 

1. Venison
2. Nettle tea
3. Huevos rancheros
4. Steak tartare
5. Crocodile
6. Black pudding (sorry… in Germany we call this blutwurst (blood sausage)… no thanks)
7. Cheese fondue
8. Carp
9. Borscht
10. Baba ghanoush
11. Calamari
12. Pho
13. PB&J sandwich (although I hated it…)
14. Aloo gobi
15. Hot dog from a street cart
16. Epoisses
17. Black truffle
18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes (apple wine is delicious!)
19. Steamed pork buns

20. Pistachio ice cream (don’t like ice cream or pistachios, so…)
21. Heirloom tomatoes
22. Fresh wild berries
23. Foie gras
24. Rice and beans
25. Brawn, or head cheese
26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper
27. Dulce de leche(another had it once… rather wouldn’t again)
28. Oysters (Ditto)
29. Baklava
30. Bagna cauda
31. Wasabi peas (I should rectify this…)
32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl (
YUM)
33. Salted lassi
34. Sauerkraut(not my favorite, but I wouldn’t be a German if I didn’t have some…)
35. Root beer float
36. Cognac with a fat cigar
37. Clotted cream tea
38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O (Jello makes me… worried)
39. Gumbo
40. Oxtail
41. Curried goat (yum!  Its been several years, but I can still remember this dish)
42. Whole insects
43. Phaal
44. Goat’s milk
45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more
46. Fugu (this dish is terrifying)
47. Chicken tikka masala (yum!)
48. Eel
(yuck…)
49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut (I didn’t think much of it…)
50. Sea urchin
51. Prickly pear
52. Umeboshi
53. Abalone
54. Paneer
55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal (I had to…)
56. Spaetzle (I make this all the time…)
57. Dirty gin martini
58. Beer above 8%
ABV
59. Poutine
60. Carob chips
61. S’mores
62. Sweetbreads
63. Kaolin (eat clay?  Hmm…)
64. Currywurst
65. Durian
66. Frogs’ legs
67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake
68. Haggis (this falls under the ‘does it make me feel uneasy at the preparation description?)
69. Fried plantain
70. Chitterlings, or andouillette
71. Gazpacho
72. Caviar and blini
73. Louche absinthe
74. Gjetost, or brunost
75. Roadkill (nah… I like my meat refrigerated…)
76. Baijiu
77. Hostess Fruit Pie
78. Snail
79. Lapsang souchong
80. Bellini
81. Tom yum
82. Eggs Benedict
83. Pocky
84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant.
85. Kobe beef
86. Hare
87. Goulash
88. Flowers
89. Horse
90. Criollo chocolate
91. Spam
92. Soft shell crab
93. Rose harissa
94. Catfish
95. Molepoblano
96. Bagel and lox
97. Lobster Thermidor
98. Polenta
99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee
100. Snake

Responses

  1. So fun to read what The Lemonator has/hasn’t eaten – I love these lists! 🙂

  2. This is such a fun list! Is it sad that I don’t even know what a lot of the items are? Haha. Also, your enchiladas from the other night look like a really good dinner to throw together after classes.

  3. Okay, I guess I meant quesadillas. Close enough!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

