Posted by: Hil | September 7, 2008

Two Weekend Finds

SV402521

Over the weekend I was delighted to find Seapoint Farms wasabi roasted edamame at Whole Foods.  I love these things–they are crunchy and spicy and satisfying.  And a quarter cup, which is extremely filling, has 7 grams of fiber and 14 grams of protein for only 130 calories.  These are a great portable snack, but I wasn’t very hungry at dinner tonight, so I ended up eating some as a low-volume, high nutrition boost to my dinner.

The main part of my dinner was light, but delicious:  a baby spinach salad with olive oil vinegar and an English muffin with garlic herb chevre.  The chevre was my second find.  I picked it up on a whim, thinking that a flavored chevre would be a fun change.  When I tried some, I was in for some pleasant discoveries.  First, the garlic chive flavor was just as delicious as it sounded.  The texture was fluffy…almost whipped seeming.  I’m a bit unsure how well it would crumble into, say, a salad, but it was wonderfully easy to spread on toasted bread.  As icing on the cake, this brand of chevre was the lowest in saturated fat I had ever seen…something that completely escaped my notice when I initially grabbed it from the shelf.  After finishing the first half of my English muffin, I had to go back for the second half.  A banana for dessert rounded out my dinner.

SV402518 (2)

That weekend seemed to go by so quickly.  I can’t believe tomorrow is Monday already!

Responses

  1. Mm mm mm…garlic herb chevre is my favorite!! And how wonderful that the saturated fat count was lower than you expected – definitely a pleasant surprise 🙂

  2. Great finds!!

    Happy Monday 🙂

  3. i love dry roasted soy beans, which is basically the same as roasted edamame, isn’t it? but never had wasabi flavour – and these look SO good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

