Posted by: Hil | September 9, 2008

Catching Cold

SV402525

My appetite is still a little bit stress-suppressed, but I felt a little bit better today and ate a lot more normally.  For breakfast, I had my standard English muffin half with peanut butter along with a fruit smoothie.  Smoothies are one of those faux health foods that usually aren’t very good for you at all.  Although they are undeniably fun to eat, I almost never buy them because I always end up with a sugar rush of a beverage that never holds me as long as it should, given the calories.  But if you make it with just fresh and frozen fruit, plain yogurt, and maybe a little bit of milk or agave nectar, they can be very tasty and filling.  I never use fruit juice, sweetened yogurt, sorbet or ice cream, which would make it way too sugary, and I never use soy protein powder, which I’m not sure I consider food.  Today’s smoothie was rasberries, peaches, and low fat yogurt thinned with a splash of my new hazelnut milk and sweetened with a squirt of agave nectar.  It was very yummy and a fun change from sitting down to a bowl of plain yogurt.

My lunch was a whole wheat turkey and avocado wrap, roasted edamame, apple sauce, and celery sticks.  I packed a Kashi TLC bar for a snack and ended up dipping into some of the emergency pistachios in my locker as well…I didn’t have very much turkey left to put in the wrap and it wasn’t very filling. 

SV402529 (2)

I have to say, the TLC bar was very good.  My two comparison points for granola/protein bars are homemade trail mix and Luna bars.  If I can’t honestly say it’s better than at least one of those, I don’t bother.  This bar, however, was a very solid contender.  Here’s a quick rundown.

  • Nutrition:  Very similar to a Luna bar, but with less protein, more fiber, and healthier fat.
  • Taste:  The taste was surprisingly good–it tasted like granola and not cardboard.  The spice flavor was a little bit strong for me, and I love spices…I think it was there to disguise the flavor of the flax seeds.  I’ve tasted better sugary granola bars, but compared to any bar that could be considered healthy, this bar is delicious.
  • Size: Perfect–small and compact enough to carry in a purse, but you get plenty of bar for your calories.  And it actually comes in two thin planks, which makes it easy to split it into two smaller snacks.
  • Staying power:  These are pretty filling, but I did have to force myself to slow down the pace of my eating…the sugary taste makes them pretty easy to inhale, so I had to pause for a minute to let my body register that it was satisfied.
  • Real Food?:  More so than Luna bars, less so than trail mix.  The ingredients list is pretty long, but is mostly free of scary additives.  I’m not sure I would want to make these a staple in my diet, but they are much better than most bars.

Dinner was grilled chicken tenders, wilted collard greens, and leftover squashy mac and cheese.

SV402532

And some fresh pineapple for dessert.  I love tropical fruit for dessert…it’s so sweet and flavorful and working to cut it up makes eating it even more satisfying.

SV402531 (2)

Responses

  1. Glad your appetite is coming back.

    Fresh pineapple is one of my favorite foods. When I was in Hawaii, I could not get enough!

  2. Glad that you’re feeling better – keep it up!! 🙂

    I agree – I always MAKE my own smoothies & protein shakes (which I drink on a daily basis – easy way to consume extra nutrition, especially when I’m in a rush for dance practices and classes!), since I can control what exactly goes into the mix.

    Collard greens + pineapple = two of my favorites 🙂

  3. Glad you’re feeling better!

    Thanks for the review on the Kashi bar!


Leave a Reply

Categories

