Posted by: Hil | September 10, 2008

Watermelon Wednesday

SV402541 (2)

I took advice from some of my wonderful readers and picked up a miniature watermelon at the store.  It totally hit the spot.  I brought some for my lunch today along with a whole wheat pita sandwich filled with hummus and veggies–yum  For a snack, I packed some raisins and spicy peanuts…I love the sweet-salty-spicy combination and the combination of dried fruit and nuts is always satisfying.

For dinner, I was having the craziest craving for meat.  I’m a pretty confirmed omnivore, but having a strong craving for meat is pretty unusual for me.  I was thisclose to dragging the husband out for burgers, but it occurred to me to try a bite of leftover beef stew to see if that did the trick.  Sure enough, I soon forgot all about burgers.  Funnier still, the stew was so rich that I only ate a little bit before my meat craving was completely satisfied…the husband got the rest of my stew.  Isn’t it funny how cravings go sometimes?

SV402543

My meat craving may have been satisfied, but I was still hungry, so I rounded out dinner with an assortment of the usual suspects: half an English muffin with avocado…

SV402548

…spinach salad with sherry vinaigrette…

SV402547 (2)

…and, of course, more watermelon!

SV402553 (2)

Responses

  1. I love beef stew! It’s one of my favorite things to eat!

    An english muffin with avocado sounds good. I’ll have to try that one day!

  2. Mmm, watermelon!! And like Foodie, I too love the avocado/English muffin combination.

  3. I get those cravings, too. Hooray for satisfying the craving!

  4. i love hummus sandwiches 🙂 and cravings are funny things – sometimes i feel like i crave a whole fudgy chocolate cake, but then am satisfied with one dried fig! those are the good days, of course 😉

  5. I liked your blog name so I thought I’d visit. I just bought a small watermelon too and it was local & delicious!

    Great that your cravings were satisfied by one bite. I’ve don’t something similar. A friend once told me to try two bites of something if you crave it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

