Posted by: Hil | September 11, 2008

Hungry Hil

SV402554 (2)

I felt vaguely like a bottomless pit this morning.  I wasn’t desperately starving, but it seemed to take an awful lot of food to fill me up!  For breakfast, I started with whole wheat protein pancakes (from the leftover batter) with raspberry sauce and a ripe pear.

SV402557

For lunch I packed a goat cheese and veggie pita sandwich, another pear, a handful of edamame, and a Kashi TLC bar.

SV402559

I stopped by the coffee shop this morning to have some quiet time to just sip a hot beverage and journal.  This was very therapeutic, but I found that I was still hungry after breakfast, so I ended up getting a shortbread cookie to eat with my coffee.  I love shortbread…it is so rich and buttery and satisfying, and it tastes so good with a hot cup of coffee or tea.  I haven’t had a piece in months and it was definitely time. 

SV402560

Bizarrely enough, soon after this I was STILL hungry, so I broke into my Kashi bar, which held me until lunch, where I ate my pear, my edamame and most of my sandwich.  At that point I felt pretty comfortably full, but hardly stuffed. 

And then, nothing.  I stayed comfortably satisfied all through the afternoon (my normal hungry time) until dinner.  This was a bizarre day, but in the end, I’m glad I listened to my body and just ate.  I was truly hungry–not  bored or stressed or craving carbs–and when I ate enough food, my hunger subsided and I felt perfectly satisfied.

Dinner was that burger that I’ve been craving all week.  Burgers are pretty low volume food and fast food joints aren’t exactly filled with healthy side dish options, so I filled up on fresh watermelon at home before heading out.

SV402566

Then on our way to choir practice, the husband and I stopped by Fatburger.  Despite the name, it’s not at all a bad place to eat.  Among other options, they have small burgers, turkey burgers and boca burgers, and the latter two even come on whole wheat buns.  I acquired a turkey burger with lettuce, tomatoes, onions, pickles and mustard on a whole wheat bun.  I took off the top half and ate it open face.  An odd habit, perhaps, but one which suits me well–I don’t want that much bread on my burger.  It was everything I was hoping for:  juicy savory turkey on warm bun with lots of crunch from the vegetable garnishes.  I also stole a few of the husband’s steak fries.  Yum. 

  SV402573

Responses

  1. Love the idea of the rasberry saice on the pancakes, I am not much of a maple syrup fan so I usually use protein powder as a flavor for the topping

  2. Great job listening to your hunger cues!

  3. Just wanted to say thank you for your kind words on my blog yesterday.

  4. GORRRGEOUS pancakes, pear, and watermelon – yum!!

  5. glad your pears got ripe!

  6. Fatburger definitely sounds interesting.

    I’m glad you got some theraputic time journaling. πŸ™‚

    Regarding the milk in your next post, I’ve never had any interesting milks. I should get on that.

  7. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. πŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

Categories

