Posted by: Hil | September 11, 2008

September 11

Seven years ago today, I was getting ready for school when my mother yelled at me to come into the living room.  I walked in and saw an image on the screen that I will never forget:  smoke billowing from the North tower of the World Trade Center.  As I stood there, rooted to the floor, I saw the second plane fly into the South Tower.  I was surprised to realize today how many feelings I still have about that day.  I will be back later tonight to post about the usual, but I wanted to take a minute to remember and to be thankful for everything I have.  I am going to go hug my husband and eat a good dinner and sing my heart out at choir practice and try to remember to relish every minute of life.  Because life is fragile, and every minute is a blessing.

For now, I will leave you with the opening to the first Daily Show after 9/11.  Jon Stewart’s opening speech was and still is incredibly cathartic for me.

Responses

  1. Thank you for this wonderful tribute post – I too remember everything on this day, 7 years ago.

  2. Lovely post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

