Posted by: Hil | September 12, 2008

Friday Afternoon

SV402580 (2) 

I love the internet:  thanks to a quick Google search I have finally figured out how to tell when a pear is ripe!  I’d been feeling the bulb of the pear, which seemed as rock hard as always.  Apparently the trick is to feel the neck of the pear.  When that starts to get soft, you’re good to go.  I’ve tried it on a few of my pears, and so far it has worked perfectly.  I think my confidence is now up enough that I can go buy lots more pears at the store this weekend.  The pear in the above picture was a pre-workout snack.  I do not workout nearly as often as I would like to.  Lots of walking and a bit of light resistance training is typically about as far as my exercise regimen goes, but there’s nothing like good old fashioned cardio to burn off stress.  And now that school is back in full swing, I definitely need the stress reduction.  I find gyms inherently boring, so a good ipod playlist is essential for me.  Music always makes me want to move.  (Side effect of this is that I’ve had Rick Astley’s “Never Gonna Give You Up” stuck in my head all day.)

It’s a rainy, fall-like day today, so soup seemed like an appropriate lunch.  I decided to be lazy and open a can of Trader Joe black bean soup that was hiding in the back of my fridge.  Meh.  Bland and uninteresting.  I tried to jazz it up with chili powder and cumin, but that didn’t fix the overly salty taste.  I ate some, but didn’t finish. 

SV402586 (2)

To go with my soup, I had ak mak crackers with herbed goat cheese.  I was only planning on having a couple, but when it became apparent that the soup wasn’t very good, I ended up eating about five.  They were delicious. 🙂

SV402585 (2)

And for dessert, another fall like food:  apple sauce with cinnamon.

SV402588 (2) 

Not a terrible lunch on the whole, but not very filling, either.  A Kashi TLC bar and a glass of milk came to the rescue midafternoon.

Responses

  1. Hooray for ripe pears!! I enjoyed a perfectly-ripe Starkrimson pear this afternoon 🙂

    Enjoy your evening!

  2. I feel this link has something important to contribute to this post


Leave a Reply

Categories

