Posted by: Hil | September 15, 2008

Cleaning out the Produce Drawer

SV402614

I think I may have gone a bit crazy at the grocery store this weekend.  My fridge is crammed, and I mean crammed with vegetables right now.  So this is going to be a weekend of figuring out creative ways to use up a lot of it in short order before it goes bad.  I started at lunch with a vegetable-heavy Greek pizza on a whole wheat mini pita.

At dinner, I set about making a serious dent in my produce with one of my standby clean-out-the-produce-drawer comfort foods:  chickpea and vegetable curry.  This dish works fine with just root vegetables and canned tomato, but extra veggies are always a welcome addition.  So I filled my dish with onion, celery, carrot, bell pepper, cauliflower and broccoli.  When those had softened a bit, I added canned tomatoes, canned chickpeas, curry paste and a splash of vegetable broth and let it simmer for a few minutes until the veggies softened and the flavors melded together.

 SV402617

This smelled amazing.  The broccoli ended up cooking a bit more than I would have preferred…next time I would either add it later or use a heartier vegetable.  The cauliflower was fantastic...a really fun textural contrast to the rest of the veggies.

SV402618 

My portion, topped with a dollop of yogurt to cool it down.

SV402623

Normally I would serve this type of curry with whole wheat couscous or maybe brown rice, but tonight, the Lemonator decided to whip up some fresh whole wheat naan, so I stuck with that.  There is nothing in this world like naan fresh from the oven.  I love having a husband who bakes!

SV402624

Responses

  1. Your meals are VeggieGirl-approved!! 😀

  2. Yum! I love naan bread — I think it pairs perfectly with your chickpea and vegetable curry. What a great way to use up all of those veggies.

    And I am seriously craving your pizza – WOW, so colorful and satisfying!

  3. i LOVE naan! the soup looks great, will definitely be making something like that soon!

  4. Oh my, I often buy alot of produce, but I don’t mind 🙂 Everything looks great!!

  5. Ooh FRESH naan? I already greatly enjoy storebought, so fresh must be amazing.

    LOVE all of the produce loaded up in your dishes. I love having a fridge full of fresh veggies and just chopping up a bit of everything and making a HUGE salad. SO filling and satisfying.

  6. WOAH. Can we get a recipe on the naan?


Leave a Reply

Categories

