Posted by: Hil | September 16, 2008

Bison Burgers and Roasted Vegetables

SV402640

I tried something new today: bison!  I’ve heard a lot about how bison is very nutritious alternative to beef.  It packs all of the nutritional punch (iron, potassium, vitamins) of beef with significantly less saturated fat and cholesterol.  When I saw some on sale at my local Ralph’s, I decided to give it a try.  I was concerned that the burgers would be dry or tough as lean beef often is, but they were delicious.  The consistency was very tender and the bison had amazing flavor.  The husband and I both thought the flavor was superior to beef burgers.  Bison is significantly more expensive than beef, but other than that, it compares very favorably.  If you eat red meat, it’s a great option.

Even with lean red meat, I tend to go with a smaller portion than I would with fish or chicken.  Thus, a filling vegetable side dish was in order to round out the meal.  I roasted up lots of cauliflower and brussel sprouts.  I’ve found that it’s pretty much impossible for me to roast up too many vegetables.  No matter how big a batch I make, the husband and I always pile our plates high and go back for seconds and soon the vegetables are no more.  Although the meal was very filling, I managed to find room for a big pile of strawberries for dessert.

Responses

  1. Awesome! I really want to try bison.

  2. I’ve been wanting to try bison for AGES!! Maybe this weekend 🙂

  3. We like bison too. For us, it is actually much cheaper than buying organic lean beef and the kind we buy doesn’t use antibiotics or hormones so we feel just as good eating it. I agree that it isn’t dry and have a superior flavor.

  4. Those roasted vegetables look amaaaaazing.

  5. OOh, bison 🙂 I wish it wasn’t so expensive! ANd I agree, you can never roast too many veggies!

  6. Well YUM!!!! Looks like you are doing the low carb thing?

  7. Dicentra–I’m not exactly a low carb person, as I eat lots of fruit, beans and whole grain bread, crackers and pasta. I eat very little sugar or white flour. I’ve never really been a fan of hamburger buns, and when I’m only feeding two people, I don’t really see any reason to go out and buy them. And for whatever reason, I’ve always thought that a meal composed of red meat and vegetables is perfectly complete and delicious on its own.

  8. Absolutely!!! Switch the veggies around and it looks like something we’d eat at our house. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

