Posted by: Hil | September 20, 2008

Old Favorites

SV402652

Do you ever have those moments where you realize that it’s been months since you’ve eaten one of your favorite foods?  That happened to me yesterday with tuna.  I adore tuna, and canned tuna is one of the cheapest ways I know to get a fish fix.  I think that the thought of opening up a can of fish doesn’t always seem very appealing to me first thing in the morning, so I haven’t been packing as many tuna lunches as I used to.  But regardless of my reasons for neglecting tuna, it was definitely time to have some again.  I love a plain old tuna sandwich, but when I have time, I love to chop up lots of vegetables into my tuna.  The mixture above is one can of tuna with chopped celery, bell pepper, olives capers, dijon mustard, lemon and olive oil.  Very yummy.  Instead of putting it into a sandwich, I spooned it onto rye crackers.  It was a great crunchy meal with a lot of fun flavors for my mouth to play with.  With some dark chocolate to end the meal, it was a perfect lunch.  And it was filling enough that I only ended up eating half of the tuna salad, which meant I got a delicious repeat at today’s lunch!

My afternoon snack was another old favorite:  ants on a log.  I don’t care what anyone says about this childhood snack, it is healthy, cheap and delicious.  When we were kids, my sister and I were the envy of all of our friends because we got ants on a log in our lunches.  My sister’s class was particularly into bartering lunch items, and she could get anything she wanted for her ants on a log:  chips, cookies, you name it.  I take this as proof that kids actually will eat healthy foods.  But I think that ants on a log are great for grownups, too.  They are sweet, salty, crunchy and have a great mix of fiber, protein and fat to fill you up.  Besides, they are much more fun to eat than just eating a spoonful of peanut butter and a few raisins by themselves.

SV402654

Responses

  1. i LOVE ants on a log 🙂 some things you never grow out of!


Leave a Reply

Categories

