Posted by: Hil | September 23, 2008

Thirteen Bean Soup

SV402699

Now that fall is upon us, I am on a quest to learn more bean recipes.  Lentils are my old standby because they are so quick cooking, but with the amazing variety of legumes in the world, there is no reason to limit my devotion to just one.  So I took a simple step forward and whipped up a mixed bean soup in the Crockpot.  The Crockpot worked beautifully and saved me from having to tend a hot stove for hours.  Here is the painfully easy method.  The night before, I put 1 cup of mixed beans (I used Bob’s Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix) into the unplugged crockpot with 4 cups of water and let it soak overnight.  I also chopped up half an onion, 3 stalks of celery and a handful of baby carrots and stored them in the fridge so that they would be ready to go the next morning.  The next morning, I added the chopped veggies to the Crockpot along with a can of diced tomatoes and a quart of vegetable broth.  For flavor, I added crushed garlic, oregano, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper.  I set the Crockpot to low and headed off to class.  When I got back, the soup was ready to eat and my apartment smelled amazing.  All soup is better with a hunk of crusty bread, so I ate mine with some great pumpernickel.  And after taking the picture, I made the happy discovery that creamy, salty feta tasted wonderful both with the soup and the bread, so I scattered a bit on top.

But the best part of a meal like this is leftovers.  Soup is one of the few things that is actually better in its leftover form, and this one was no different.  The husband and I have already gotten two dinners out of this pot of soup and we still have lots left.  Not a problem in my book!

Responses

  1. MMM…another great recipe for the crockpot!

  2. Lentils are definitely my #1 favorite legume – perfect for soups/stews, indeed!!

    Love the crockpot dish!!

  3. I will definitely have to try this! I need to get a crockpot first though..hmmm…

  4. Yum, looks delicious! I’m going to have to give soup in the crockpot a try.

  5. soup in the crockpot is great! and that looks particularly delicious!

  6. Oh yum. Definitely getting into bean soup weather. I get a 17 bean soup mix from Remlinger Farms. Yum!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

