Posted by: Hil | October 2, 2008

Asian Tofu Vegetable Soup

SV402766

The husband and I are both feeling a bit under the weather, so a bowl of soothing noodle soup seemed like the best way to go.  For some reason, I’ve never particularly liked classic chicken noodle soup…it tastes so bland and starchy to me.  I much prefer a light, flavorful Asian-style soup.  I always keep emergency packets of instant miso soup in my pantry for days when I am just too sick to do anything other than boil water, but today I happened to have a fridge stocked with tofu, bell pepper, cabbage and basil…everything I needed to whip up a hot soup from scratch.  My base was some vegetable broth flavored with soy sauce, ginger, garlic, sherry, rice wine vinegar and chili paste.  In the broth, I simmered chopped cabbage, bell pepper, tofu and saifun bean threads.  At the end, I added a drizzle of sesame oil and a handful of basil and edamame.  Easy as that: a bowl of hot flavorful liquid with plenty of vitamins (including lots of vitamin C from the bell pepper), nourishing protein from the tofu and easy-to-digest carbohydrates from the noodles.

Responses

  1. Yeah, I’m not feeling 100% either 😦 Hope you two get well soon!!

  2. Sorry you are feeling well 😦

    The soup sounds great though. I am not a fan of “chicken soup” either.


Leave a Reply

Categories

