Posted by: Hil | October 3, 2008

Confessions

SV402776 

This blog is all about the basic idea that good, nourishing food is worth the time it takes to prepare it.  Good food doesn’t have to be complicated or gourmet.  It’s just a matter of taking a bit of time to shop for fresh ingredients and venturing into the kitchen to do something with them.  I have been completely ignoring my own advice for the last few days.  It started with being “too busy” to pack my own lunch.  At first I bought myself healthy lunches of soup, salad or sushi, but by yesterday, I had fallen to the point of calling a piece of fruit and a pack of gummi bears lunch.  I could give you my list of excuses, but in the end, that’s not the point.  It’s not all that hard to throw together a sandwich, but somehow life happens and everything else seems more pressing.  And my old kitchen paralysis (which I thought I had vanquished) seems to be creeping back, quietly whispering that unless I am about to make something earth-shatteringly innovative and delicious, I shouldn’t even try.

Enough.  I have come too far to be behaving like this.  So for the next few days, I will post all of my meals.  I make no promises that they will be interesting.  But they will be real meals that I managed to summon the motivation to prepare when motivation was sorely lacking. 

Day one:  pumpkin oatmeal with cranberries and pecans.  Nothing too complicated about this–I just added a spoonful of canned pumpkin, lots of spices, a couple of pecans, some brown sugar and a drizzle of cream to a normal batch of stovetop oatmeal and garnished it with cranberries when it was done.  I’m still trying to find the right balance of pumpkin, oatmeal and spices, but the texture was great: creamy and thick.  At first I was a bit unhappy about the amount of sugar that I added to make the taste come out right but I only ate about half of the bowl before finding myself completely stuffed, so I guess I ended up eating a reasonable amount of sugar in the end.  Besides, my mama always told me that because oatmeal is so healthy and high in soluble fiber, any sugar you add to it doesn’t count.  😉

SV402771

There.  I stood over a stove, and I made something.  It wasn’t perfect, but it was food.  And more importantly, it represented an effort to take care of myself.  I will see you at lunch!

Responses

  1. You can do it!!! We’re here in the blogging world for you, for support.

  2. It’s hard sometimes, but stick it out! I get lazy and make excuses too. It’s actually why I started my blog – to try to hold myself accountable. You’re off to a great start!

  3. Really good post! While others (like my DH) think it’s entirely wacky to post photos of my meals, it really does help me keep track and make a conscious effort to eat foods that are good for me. It makes me make the time, even when I think I’m too busy. And a little extra time taken now may equal a little extra time of life later.

    I think your oatmeal looks delicious! I’d take it over gummy bears any day.

  4. I totally understand what you mean about falling into that cooking rut! I’m getting so spoiled having people serve me food all the time that I’m afraid I won’t be able to dive back in once I get home :/. You can do it Hil! and hopefully I can too!

  5. don’t be so hard on yourself – you always post such amazngly delicious-looking, fresh and homecooked food, you can’t be perfect all the time! the oatmeal looks great, though 🙂

  6. Thanks to everyone for the words of support. I absolutely believe that this is doable…it’s just a choice that I have to consciously make. Stress and illness and life can derail good habits awfully fast. But each day is a new opportunity, and I already feel worlds better.


Leave a Reply

Categories

