Posted by: Hil | October 3, 2008

Ploughman’s Lunch

SV402778

Breakfast held me so well this morning that I only began to feel the slightest bit hungry late in the afternoon, minutes before I had to catch a bus.  So I opted for a simple variant on a ploughman’s lunch: bread and cheese accompanied by an apple or green salad.  I absolutely adore the combination of extra sharp cheddar cheese and tart Granny Smith apple…it’s such a strong-tasting, salty-sweet treat. I was all out of good crusty bread, so I went with some Ak-Mak crackers instead, which also tasted great.   This lunch took next to no preparation time, but it was very colorful and filling.

I am very excited, because I just my first food blogger free samples, and they are from Sahale snacks!  I can’t think of anything I would rather get free samples of.  Sahale has come out with a new line of glazed nuts, so I have three yummy new flavors to try.  For an afternoon snack, I had a handful of my first flavor: cashews with pomegranate and vanilla.

SV402782 SV402783

YUM.  The nuts contain actual ground vanilla beans, which is immediately obvious when you bite into them–the sweet, rich vanilla flavor is really strong and delicious.  The pictures and name on the bag might make you think that this would taste strongly of pomegranate, but the pomegranate is really more of an afterthought.  The flecks of dried pomegranate are nice, I don’t think I could have identified them in a blind taste test.  But the nuts were so delicious that it was hard to be annoyed about slightly misleading labeling…they are perfect as is.

Responses

  1. Vanilla nuts sound great. What a good idea for lunch – I love the kind of lunches where I can just throw a bunch of stuff in a bag and prepare something at work, so I may have to try this idea 🙂

  2. OOOOH those nuts sound divine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

