Posted by: Hil | October 6, 2008

Sunday

This has been one of the most fun and social weekends I’ve had in a long time.  We hung out with the husband’s best man on Saturday afternoon, went out to dinner and a movie with a new group of people on Saturday night, and spent Sunday afternoon with a good friend from college who has recently relocated from the east coast.   The weekend went by incredibly fast, and there are a bunch of things that I was planning to get done, but didn’t, but it was so worth it.

 SV402821

I started off with a bowl of Kashi Heart 2 Heart with skim milk and sliced banana.  I’ve been hearing rave reviews of this stuff for awhile now, and as there were no fresh Ezekiel English muffins at the store this week, I’m going to have to switch up my breakfast routine for a few days.  The verdict: the consistency is like Cheerios only a bit crunchier.  The flavor is mildly sweet…nothing exciting, but perfectly pleasant.  The bowl was quite a bit more filling than I was expecting and held me to lunch with no problem.  In the end, I think that cold breakfast cereal (except for granola) is one of those foods that you could only love if you’d been brought up on it…the flavor just isn’t that great.  I never experience a feeling of deep satisfaction when I am finished with a bowl of cereal the way I do when I’m finished with a bowl of oatmeal or piece of peanut butter toast.  (Michael Pollan’s ideas of food v. food-like substance come to mind.)  But sometimes I really need to try some cereal to remind myself of why I don’t eat it all the time.  And I suspect that this stuff will taste great as a filler for trail mix.

For lunch, we took our friend to one of our favorite hole in the wall restaurants.  It’s the sort of place where the owner does all the cooking and her sons wait tables.  The atmosphere is homey and the service is great.  And the food…well, I’m getting there.

To start, I had a glass of horchata, which is a sweet rice drink with cinnamon.  I rarely order sweet drinks, but horchata is a special exception for me.  This one was slightly sweeter than I prefer, but still tasty.

SV402823

This is the sort of restaurant where you have to come back again and again to work your way around the menu because everything is so delicious.  Today I finally got to the famous sopa de siete mares.  I had heard amazing things about this soup, and I was in the mood for something new and different.  All I can say is WOW.

 SV402826

That bowl, in case you can’t tell from the picture is HUGE.  And it was chock full of mixed seafood of all kinds: shrimp, scallops, crab, calamari, and chunks of a meaty white fish (I think halibut).  The stock was simple and rich and not mucked up with a lot of cream or tomato as most seafood soups are.  I ate until I couldn’t eat another bite and I only got about halfway through.  This means leftovers for me, which I am thrilled about.  I will definitely be ordering this again.

Dinner was wilted spinach (hiding under everything else), noodles with soy sauce and sesame oil, mushrooms with sherry and garlic, and tofu.

SV402834

This was a great dinner.  Noodles with soy sauce and sesame oil were one of my favorite things as a toddler (official title: noonoo) and I still love them.  The tofu was my favorite part of dinner: flavorful and melt-in-your-mouth good.  I cooked it up with a mixture of canola oil, soy sauce, sherry, garlic, ginger and chili flakes, then finished with a drizzle of sesame oil.  The only disappointment were the mushrooms.  I absolutely stand by sherry and garlic as fantastic accompaniments to mushrooms (if it’s a holiday, add lots of butter, too) but today I experimented with rehydrating dried mushrooms–that didn’t wort so well.  I think the main problem was that I didn’t drain the mushrooms well enough after soaking them, so the resulting dish was watery and didn’t absorb the flavors of the sauce very well.  I will keep experimenting with the mushrooms and report back.

Responses

  1. As they say, time flies when you’re having fun 🙂

    Ahh, sorry about the mushrooms 😦 Definitely keep experimenting!!

  2. I’m drooling over that dinner. Looks fantastic!!!! I will definitely have to try it soon

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed the weekend. You can buy the Ezekiel Muffins not frozen? I don’t like mushrooms at all, so I have no suggestions.

  4. Heather–At my store the Ezekiel English muffins are in the same section as the bread. How interesting that yours are in the frozen section. I guess that means that either I’m getting them fresher or Whole Foods is trying to dupe me by thawing them before selling.

  5. MMMMMMMMMM that dinner looks amazing!

  6. I love cold cereal but I understand where you’re coming from. The only way I actually love it is when I mix it up with lots of good stuff, like multiple cereal types, fruit, yogurt and milk all together. A plain bowl of one kind of cereal with milk just does nothing for me.

    Hortata sounds really good…I hope I can find that served somewhere someday because I’ll definitely be ordering it.

    That soup is crazy. The giant legs sticking out would freak me out a little though haha.


Leave a Reply

Categories

