Posted by: Hil | October 9, 2008

Poached Eggs and Spinach

This is one of my all-time favorite meals for breakfast, lunch or dinner.  So many people think of eggs as a breakfast food, which has always seemed odd to me.  I’m almost always in the mood for bread or oatmeal first thing in the morning, while eggs make a perfect light lunch or dinner.  They are cheap, nutritious and flavorful.  And a perfectly poached egg is oh-so fun to eat!  I love cutting into them and letting the yolk spill all over the spinach.  Yum.  Of course half of a whole grain English muffin is a useful accompaniment, as it lets you mop up any leftover egg yolk that manages to escape from the spinach.  Add a few cherry tomatoes for color and juiciness, and you have your meal.

Responses

  1. Love versatile meals, that work for breakfast, lunch for dinner.

  2. I have never had a poached egg! Can you believe it? Looks so simple and delicious. Do you have a poacher?

  3. Heather–Nope, no poacher…I always do them by hand. If I ever stumbled on an egg poacher for a reasonable price I might buy one, but for the moment I am getting by just fine. I wrote a few posts on egg poaching awhile back…you should give it a try!

    https://blueberryhil.wordpress.com/2008/07/09/kitchen-sink-vegetable-soup-with-poached-eggs/

    https://blueberryhil.wordpress.com/2008/07/11/follow-up-on-egg-poaching/

  4. That looks awesome!!!! Yum! Do you add a bit of vinegar to your poaching water?

  5. Dicentra–Yes, I always add a bit of vinegar.


Leave a Reply

Categories

