Posted by: lemonator | October 13, 2008

Indian Dinner (with bread)

SV402845

Lemonator here.

Here’s that fabulous dinner I promised you before we headed out of town.

I’ve long dreamed of making an entire Indian meal from scratch.  I’ve made components, like Naan or Tandoori Salmon, but never an entire meal.  So its kinda funny that on a ‘clean out the fridge day’ I finally decided to make a full meal (sans naan).  I based my recipes nearly entirely off of these two: SaagChicken Makhani… although I made substitutions when appropriate.  It *was* a clean-out-the-fridge day after all.

What inspired all this was that we had some leftover tandoori from a few nights ago, some spinach that needed to be eaten, and no meat other than some frozen chicken tenders. 

A warning in advance.  Both of these dishes are rather… time intensive.  I’m sorry to say that I burned the onions and butter in… both dishes… because I was busy concentrating on the other dish!  I even meant to take photos while I went, but… that didn’t happen at all.  So… I’ll lead you through it dish by dish.

Saag

Saag is a thick creamy spinach dish.  I’ve had it with various different spice levels, and I like a nice medium spice (too much and you stop tasting the spinach!)  I probably used… maybe 150% of the spices in the recipe. 

To begin, dice up an onion and start sauteing them in a saucepan.  when its cooked, add 6 cloves of minced garlic, and the spices: ginger, coriander, turmeric and cayenne. 

Add a pound of spinach (frozen works just fine), 1 cup water and bring it to a boil and cook for ~10 minutes.  You really want to cook the spinach super  well.

Puree it in a blender and return to the pot, simmering for another 5 minutes.  Then add a cup of yogurt, simmer for a few more minutes, adjust seasoning and serve.  Its reaaallly delicious.

Chicken Makhani

This dish is basically a yogurt butter sauce on chicken.  I’ve long wanted to figure out a way to make this… and while the recipe above isn’t perfect, its quite good.  Lets see…

So, this dish takes two pans:  One for the chicken, and one for the sauce.

As I mentioned before, I had some tandoori marinade that I hadnÂ’t used on the salmon.

The sauce starts very similarly to how we made the saag.  Dice an onion and start sauteing it.  Add 2 T butter, 2 t lemon juice and 1 cup of tomato sauce, cook for 2 minutes, then add your marinade… I think I had about half a cup left.  simmer for 10 minutes.

In the meantime, take some chicken tenders and cut them up into small chunks.  Cook them in a pan until lightly browned.  Add the chicken to the sauce and cook for a few more minutes to incorporate the flavors, and serve!

 

This meal was absolutely amazing.  Give it a try! 

Responses

  1. Indian cuisine is fabulous!

  2. I’ve been behind on my blogs, but just wanted to stop by and say EVERYTHING you showed in the last several days looks fantastic. I want Indian food so much right now. I need to learn how to make it at home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

