Posted by: Hil | October 15, 2008

Pumpkin Oatmeal

SV402882

Fall is upon us, and I, like many others I know, have suffered from severe pumpkin cravings.  I am not a baker, so my method of choice for getting a sweet pumpkin fix is a hot bowl of pumpkin oatmeal in the morning.  This idea is far from innovative, but it’s sweet and spicy and perfect for a fall day.

As with all of my recipes/ideas, the following instructions are approximate.  I mix 1/3 cup oats*, 1/3 cup water, 1/3 cup milk and ~3 tbsp pumpkin in a microwave safe bowl.  I flavor the oats with cinnamon, nutmeg, a pinch of salt (important!) and 1-2 tbsp brown sugar.  Cover and microwave for about three minutes, then garnish with pumpkin seeds.

*I normally use 1/2 cup oats for my morning oatmeal, but the pumpkin makes the oatmeal much more filling.  If I make a half cup, I usually don’t finish and end up with a bit leftover for an afternoon snack.

Responses

  1. Yay, fall! I love all of the great things you can do with pumpkin and squash. I have a HUGE pumpkin sitting on my counter waiting to be put to good use.

  2. I agree that the pinch of salt is very important!

  3. Loooove pumpkin oatmeal. You should also try a current favorite of mine: Oatmeal made with one banana and PUMPKIN-SEED-BUTTER!!! It contains 10.5 grams of protein per serving (which is 2 tablespoons), and is quite delicious 🙂

  4. I’ve had pumpkin oatmeal on the brain for a while!! You’ve just inspired me to actually make some… yum!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

