Posted by: Hil | October 16, 2008

Balsamic Pot Roast

SV402899 

Tonight is Thursday, which means choir, which means no time to cook, which means crockpot food.  Today we made Kalyn’s wonderful crockpot balsamic pot roast.  YUM.  It was tender and full of flavor, but not too heavy–just like a pot roast should be.  We varied the vegetables slightly for our version, using celery, carrot and red potato instead of Kalyn’s simple onion version.  We also somewhat simplified the instructions.  We browned the meat in a pan and then it to our crockpot along with the chopped vegetables.  We didn’t bother with cooking the sauce before adding it to the crockpot…we just added a cup of beef broth, 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar and 1/2 cup of tomato sauce straight to the crockpot.  When the meat was cooked through, I did drain off the sauce to skim off the fat and reduce it a bit to thicken it.  I’m sure the sauce would still taste great without the skimming and thickening.

We served it over a bed of steamed cabbage, as I have always loved green leafy things with my pot roast.  The meat was delicious, but the highlight of this dish was definitely the potatoes, which became tender and soaked through with delicious balsamic flavor during cooking.

Time for to head off to choir.  I will leave you with this newly YouTubed example of what I do with my Thursday nights.

Responses

  1. Good luck at choir!! Love the YouTube link!!

  2. Dinner looks delicious!

    I love the choir clip! I miss listening to you guys sing so much…next time you just need to add a wink for me

  3. That looks and sounds AMAZING!

  4. So glad you like the post roast. That’ definitely one of my favorite crockpot recipes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

