Posted by: Hil | October 17, 2008

Love Your Body

As many of you know, October 15 was NOW’s Love Your Body day.  I’m a few days behind the times, but I would really like to encourage you to take a look at this video.  I found it very powerful.

It drives me crazy to see how much women define their self-worth based on their dress size.  How much they compare themselves to others.  And it drives me crazy that so many women seem to think that self-acceptance is great for other people, but not for them–they still need to lose weight/tone up/meet the impossible ideal. 

Weight loss isn’t inherently bad–if you’re overweight, it can be healthy.  But fear of food, self-hatred and putting your life on hold until you are thin?  Very bad.  I’ve struggled with this as much as anyone.  I know what it’s like to feel like you’re constantly 5 pounds away from being able to live your life.  But I’ve come a long way.  I remember so vividly the moment when I thought to myself, “I am happy with my relationship with food.  If being happy and flexible and not afraid of food means that I never lose another pound for the rest of my life, I am okay with that.  Because I would not give up this feeling for anything.”  And I really meant it.  That moment and that thought changed my life.

This is a huge issue that affects so many people, and it won’t be fixed overnight.  But I would encourage you to think of some small step you can take.  Look at yourself in the mirror without criticizing yourself.  Don’t make an excuse the next time you order chocolate cake.  (e.g. “Oh, I really shouldn’t!”)  Give someone a compliment.  Be a small ray of positivity in this messed up world.  You never know who you might be inspiring.

Responses

  1. I saw that video too 🙂 Women can be so hard on themselves and other women around them. It’s rough. Sometime we need a reminder to love ourselves and cherish what we have.

  2. Amen!

  3. That video is very powerful, thank you for posting it!

  4. What an awesome post! I am working towards having a healthy relationship with food and in the process, I have start to love my body the way it is. I hope to be all the way there one day.

  5. Nice post 🙂

    I just posted that video as well. I loved watching it – and watching it twice!

  6. […] Hil says, “It drives me crazy to see how much women define their self-worth based on their dress size. How much they compare themselves to others. And it drives me crazy that so many women seem to think that self-acceptance is great for other people, but not for them–they still need to lose weight/tone up/meet the impossible ideal.” […]

  7. […] Hil says, “It drives me crazy to see how much women define their self-worth based on their dress size. How much they compare themselves to others. And it drives me crazy that so many women seem to think that self-acceptance is great for other people, but not for them–they still need to lose weight/tone up/meet the impossible ideal.” […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

