Posted by: Hil | October 18, 2008

Baked Tofu and Warm Cabbage Apple Slaw

SV402912

This is getting posted slightly out of order, but I really have to share the great lunch that I made myself yesterday.  I was nervous all day because of my upcoming interview.  When I am nervous, I cook.  So this is what I made.  The tofu was rubbed with sage and good German mustard and baked for about 40 minutes at 350 degrees.  The apple slaw was based on a recipe in Ellie Krieger’s cookbook.  YUM.  The Lemonator hates cooked apple, but this was so savory-sweet fantastic that I think I’m going to try to sneak it by him one of these days and see if he objects.  First, you take some shredded carrot and thinly sliced onion (~half an onion) and a thinly sliced granny smith apple and brown them in a bit of oil.  Then you add about 1/4 a head of cabbage and let the whole thing cook.  Season with vinegar (preferably cider), vegetable broth, salt, pepper and dried or fresh sage.  The apple adds an amazing tart, but sweet punch to the savory, buttery cabbage.  This recipe is definitely a keeper.

To go with, I made a quick pumpkin soup:  canned pumpkin puree, vegetable broth, a splash of white wine, salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, nutmeg and fresh ginger all heated together.  Simple and delicious.

SV402907

Responses

  1. Oh man. I love cooked cabbage. And apples. This sounds so good! I’ll have to put cabbage on my grocery list 🙂

  2. I LOVE that pumpkin soup – oh my.

    Don’t be nervous!!! Stay positive!!! 🙂

  3. That cabbage apple salw sounds awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

