Posted by: Hil | October 19, 2008

Portobello Pizzas

SV402916

I got the idea for these delicious little pizzas from a Mollie Katzen recipe in Eat, Drink and Weigh Less.  The toppings are my own, based on what I had in my fridge.  The pizza on the left has goat cheese, spinach, kalamata olives and mushroom (the chopped up stem of the mushroom) and the one on the right has tomato sauce, mozzarella, roasted pepper and green onions.   They make a wonderful lunch when you are in the mood for something light, but filling.

To make the pizzas, brush portobello mushroom caps with olive oil and season with salt, pepper and little Italian seasoning.  Heat up a nonstick pan and place the mushrooms in it, flat side down.  If you want, you can add a bit of extra olive oil to the pan, but as long as you give them a good rub first, they probably won’t need it.  Let them cook undisturbed for 10 minutes or so, then flip and let the other side cook.  When the mushrooms have cooked through, add whatever toppings you like.  Move your pan under the broiler for a few minutes until the toppings cooked and the cheese is melted.

Responses

  1. i think this is such great idea, i just wish i could like mushrooms!

  2. these look AMAZING!!! thanks for sharing!

  3. Classic!!! My family and I eat portobello pizzas all the time 🙂

  4. Well, these just look delicious!

    So, I meant to respond to your lentil inquiry earlier, but …
    I put about 1/4 cup of lentils in a pan with about 1 cup of water. I put the heat on low so the lentils wouldn’t burn, but so the water would boil a little. I cooked them for about 12 minutes. Most of the water was evaporated, but not all. i didn’t drain them because there wasn’t This was my first time cooking lentils, so I’m not sure it was the “right” way.

  5. What a wonderful idea! I love portobellos!

  6. I love Molly Katzen 🙂

    Okra is interesting raw – crunchy, and it tastes really good as long as you can get over the fact that it still has the okra-goo! That usually goes away if you cook it.

  7. I usually use pita breads, but mushrooms are such a BETTER IDEA! Definitely going to try it!

    Thanks so much!

  8. These look great! As someone who has only recently become a HUGE fan of mushrooms, I will definitely be adding it to my recipe list!

  9. Yum, Yum!

  10. These look amazing! I can’t wait to try them – I will be sure to document it on my blog when I do!

  11. […] to marinate them, or roast them with some rice and veggies.  But that afternoon I came across a Portobello Pizza recipe on another cooking blog.  Mom and I decided to test it out and it was a HIT!  It even passed the […]

  12. They were SO GOOD! I’m so glad I discovered your recipe/blog!! 🙂 And my family LOVES portobellos… This will be made a ZILLION times, I’m sure!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

