Posted by: Hil | October 20, 2008

Discoveries of the Weekend

1.  Did you know you can microwave artichokes?  I had no clue.  I’ve only ever steamed them, which takes ages.  But pop them in the microwave in a dish covered tightly in plastic wrap and you’ll have a perfectly cooked artichoke in 10-15 minutes.  Hurray!

2.  Over-easy fried egg makes a perfect dipping sauce for artichokes.  (I think over-easy fried egg may be a perfect dipping sauce for everything!)

3.  I have a new food TV addiction:  The Chef Jeff Project on the Food Network.  Chef Jeff Henderson is a now-famous chef who grew up in South Central LA and developed a passion for cooking while in prison for selling drugs.  Now that he is an established chef and best-selling memoirist, he decided to shift his focus to philanthropic work.  The show follows Chef Jeff’s “crew” of six troubled, inner-city kids as they work their way through an internship with his high end catering company.  Those who complete the internship will receive a full ride scholarship to culinary school.  I am a sucker for things like this, but this show made me cry.  I’ve seen two episodes now, and I am completely hooked.

Responses

  1. 1.) Really?!?!??!! I need to try that then, since preparing/cooking artichokes is NOT easy.

    3.) I’M OBSESSED WITH THAT SHOW AS WELL!!! Love it 🙂

  2. VeggieGirl–yep! This link has details. I ignored most of the instructions about trimming and just trimmed the bases a bit before microwaving them.

    http://kitchen-parade-veggieventure.blogspot.com/2008/04/how-to-cook-artichokes-in-microwave.html

  3. I am totally hooked on Chef Jeff too! It’s so good. I loved last night’s episode.

    I didn’t know that! I LOVE artichokes but I only order them when I eat out because I never wanted to prepare them.

  4. I haven’t seen the show but have been meaning to watch it! I should DVR it!

  5. i LOVE artichokes and am amazed to find this out – thank you!

  6. I heard of chef jeff, but haven’t seen the show. I need to check it out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

