Posted by: Hil | October 22, 2008

Oatmeal with Greek Yogurt and Raspberry Puree

SV402941 

I have a confession to make:  I am an oatmeal heretic.  I know that most health-conscious food bloggers would not dream of going a morning without a bowl of oatmeal, but I’m just not that way.  What can I say?  I get restless.  I love toasted whole grain bread, I love yogurt with fresh fruit, I love fluffy scrambled eggs.  I could never subsist on just one thing every morning.   But when I am hit with a craving for oatmeal, I make the most of it!

This preparation is one of my very favorite ways to eat oatmeal.  Suite Apple Pie described eating something similar at a Bay Area restaurant, and I have been hooked on the concept ever since.  This is just basic oatmeal (either old fashioned or steel-cut) topped with a generous spoonful of Greek yogurt and a generous spoonful of raspberry puree.  Sometimes I mash a banana into the oatmeal for an extra layer of flavor.  The thought of putting yogurt on my oatmeal struck me as odd and unappetizing at first, but the result is wonderful.  The smooth, tart yogurt goes really well with the sweet raspberry and the chewy oats.  The contrast of flavors makes the oatmeal so much more interesting and satisfying.

Responses

  1. I could NEVER be sick of oatmeal, haha 😀

    I love your colorful, artistic-looking oat combination!!

  2. Oatmeal and yogurt is definitely a match made in heaven, if only more people knew 😉

    Your bowl is so pretty and sounds delicious, I don’t know how you resist having it every day! I suppose variety really is the spice of life, huh?

    P.S. THANK YOU for giving me an actual person to credit my mantra too, it’s so much more less embarrassing and more commendable that way, haha!

  3. haha! I don’t eat oatmeal everyday either, but I could! I just don’t have the time. This bowl looks fantastic!

    How are interviews by the way?

  4. I just saw your comment about my comment inquiry. Thanks so much. I have to say I really admire the way you seem to consistently eat a lot of whole foods with rarely any junk. And when I say “junk” I don’t mean sweats, I mean processed foods. I know you did a post about the glycemic index once. I need to reread that.

    Have a great night.

    Heather

  5. Yum, this looks awesome. And I agree, I couldn’t eat oatmeal everyday, though I might be able to eat it like this regularly:)

  6. I don’t think I could be sick of oatmeal everyday, but then again, for me, I am a person of habit. I like to listen to the same song on repeat, and really, I never get tired of it.

    I used to eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch everyday in highschool! Hahah!

  7. beautiful!

  8. does the yogurt spoil if you put it on the hot oatmeal? im so curious to try it id love to know! (obviously it doesnt because you eat it but i was just wondering if you wait for it to cool down a little before adding it on top?) thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

