Posted by: Hil | October 23, 2008

Black-Eyed Pea and Shrimp Skillet

SV402956

I make skillet dishes in the fall and winter the way I make salads in the spring and summer:  by improvising with whatever I have in my fridge.  This skillet was so tasty that I really had to share it.  I softened one chopped red bell pepper and two chopped stalks of celery in a bit of olive oil, then added minced garlic and a couple ounces of precooked frozen shrimp.  When the shrimp was mostly defrosted, I added a can of black eyed peas (drained) and about 1/3 cup tomato sauce and let the mixture simmer until it was nice and bubbling hot.  I seasoned the pan with salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper and stirred in a big handful of minced scallions at the very end.  It was the perfect quick pre-choir dinner.

SV402958

Choir tonight was actually a performance of sorts:  a chanted prayer and meditation service.  They don’t call things like this spiritual exercises for nothing–by the end, I always feel like I’ve been wrung out like a wet dishtowel.  But in a good way.  I’m exhausted but energized all at the same time.  Not unlike the way you feel after a good workout.  I know that for me, making time to pray and reflect is just as important to my overall wellbeing as making time to walk or cook healthy food.  It’s very easy to forget that when I get busy.  And since there aren’t physical, tangible effects to neglecting my heart and spirit, it’s very easy to ignore.  But I want to be whole and healthy on all levels.  A healthy physical body is great, but only insofaras it helps me to become the woman I want to be and live the life I want to live.

Responses

  1. this looks like something i would love – i loooove shrimp. very interesting to read about your philosophy on health of mind – i think you’re right, when you don’t have tangible results it’s easy to forget about it.

  2. Looove skillet dishes!!

  3. I would have never thought to combine BEP and shrimp, great work!

  4. Black peas and Shrimps look great, I like the idea of skillet food… Wonderful color they are delecious looking too…


Leave a Reply

Categories

