Posted by: Hil | October 23, 2008

The Incredible Edible Pita

SV402946 

I love pita bread.  I almost always have some in my fridge.  This is really saying something, given that I almost never have normal bread in my house.  But I love thin, chewy pita bread.  It has lots of surface area for spreading or dipping, you can make fantastic chips out of it, and you can use it to make a killer sandwich where the filling and not the bread provides the bulk of the flavor and calories.  And since I just ran out of Ezekiel English muffins and rye crackers, pitas were front and center in my meals today.  Breakfast was one of my favorite non-oatmeal breakfasts: an open-faced fried egg and spinach sandwich.  I accidentally crisped up the egg a bit much, but this was still delicious and filling.  I ate it with a delicious pink grapefruit.

SV402948

Pita popped up again in my afternoon snack, lightly toasted and coated with butter and “pumpkin butter.”  I got the idea for this pumpkin butter from Pioneer Woman Cooks.  It basically consists of combining equal parts pumpkin, nonfat yogurt and sugar with a dash of pumpkin pie spice.  I used honey instead of white sugar and made a much smaller batch, but otherwise followed instructions.  This was very good…pumpkin-y and creamy.  It tasted fairly different from commercial pumpkin butters I have tried, but it was definitely a tasty, nutritious and fast treat.

 SV402949

Responses

  1. Ooooh pumpkin butter!! Divine.

  2. Pumpkin butter 🙂

    To answer your question, I’m not a vegetarian but I only eat meat very rarely. And I try to eat mostly free-range and organic meat. And I’ve been vegetarian and vegan in the past, it’s just not something I stick with 🙂 I love vegetarian/vegan cuisine though.

  3. Mmm…pita.

  4. I’ve added pumpkin to plain yogurt, but never used it as a spread. Great idea!

  5. Wow, Pumpkin butter?!

    I’m learning so many new things!

  6. […] I had an Ezekiel English muffin with a sliver of real butter and a generous slather of homemade pumpkin butter.  On my way to school, I stopped by Starbucks for a nonfat latte to round out my breakfast..  It […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

