Posted by: Hil | October 29, 2008

Omelet with Fresh Herbs and Chevre

SV403048

I love eggs.  But I don’t usually love them for breakfast.  I often eat an omelet for lunch or dinner, but at breakfast, I want grains!  Today, however, was an exception.  I was still feeling a bit starched out from my samosa-fest yesterday and a nice clean hit of protein and vegetables seemed like the perfect way to start my day.  Luckily, I had many different varieties of fresh herbs on hand after my farmers market trip last weekend.  An herb omelet was definitely in order.

I think there are two real keys to cooking omelets properly:  low heat and butter.  If you cook your omelet gently and use enough butter, it should be fluffy and perfect and it shouldn’t stick.  I started with a good-sized pat of butter–maybe a teaspoon or two.  Then I added a minced scallion and a handful of fresh, minced sage.  The kitchen filled with the smell of cooking butter and aromatic herbs.

SV403042

Next, I added two beaten eggs seasoned with a bit of salt and pepper.  I waited patiently for them to set.  When they were almost done, I added a sprinkle of fresh minced Italian parsley and some crumbled garlic herb chevre.  The parsley adds a brightness that is a really lovely contrast to the depth and earthiness of the sage and scallion.

SV403043

When it was finished, I folded it in half and garnished with some more Italian parsley.  This was amazing.  I recommend serving this dish with a side of cherry tomatoes or a glass of fresh tomato juice.  The acidity of the tomato is a wonderful complement to the richness of the omelet.

SV403047

Happy eating!

Responses

  1. Looks perfect!

  2. I love omelettes! Yours looks really good!

  3. Wow, that looks very professional! Much better than mine, which often struggle to come out of the pan correctly 🙂 Thanks for the tip on the butter – I will have to try that instead of cooking spray.

  4. Good suggestion with the tomatoes!

  5. i REALLY need a tutorial from you on how to make omlettes.

  6. Fresh herbs make EVERYTHING better.

  7. That’s SO pretty. I love herbs!

  8. Nicely done! Your omlette looks delish!

  9. […] with me and demanding to know where its protein is.  For tonight, I pacified my stomach with a herb and chevre omelet and a side salad with arugula and white balsamic vinaigrette.  (Spicy arugula + sweet white […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

