Posted by: Hil | October 30, 2008

Insta-post

SV403052

It’s choir night, guys, so this will be short and sweet.  My food related thoughts of today:

  • Dr. MacDougall’s Black Bean Soup with Lime, low fat string cheese and a piece of fruit makes an excellent sack lunch for on-the-go, no-time-to-cook days.  I need to figure out more ways to bring hot lunch with me to school now that it’s fall.
  • Chicken Sausage is wonderful for a fast dinner because it is already cooked.  I had an Aidells Habanero and Green Chile.  It was spicy and satisfying and a wonderful complement to my big pile of farmers market arugula.
  • I forgot how tasty Reese’s peanut butter cups are!  I haven’t eaten one in years.  I have them on hand to give out to kids tomorrow, and I decided to try one.  So yummy!  As I have blogged before, one of my favorite desserts is a square of 85% dark chocolate with a dab of all natural peanut butter, which is really just a lower-sugar, more intensely flavored, more pretentious version of a Reese’s.  Chocolate and peanut butter are so good together!
  • Reader help needed:  Do you guys have a favorite workout video you can recommend?  Blueberry Mom is looking for a way to get some cardio done indoors during the colder, darker months.  Please help us out!

Off to choir I go–the Lemonator is getting antsy.  Have a good night!

Responses

  1. MMM! Chicken sausages are so yummy! I love the Trader Joe’s brand line….they have SO many flavors to choose from, and so far I’ve only had Mango and Sweet Apple- both delicious! I still really want to try the cilantro flavor, as well as the sundried tomato!

    Have a great night, and happy Friday (HALLOWEEN!)!!

  2. Hmm… I actually have a bunch of suggestions. The Jillian Michaels’ 30-day shred workouts are very very good – but possibly too intense. I also like Tom Morley for yoga (specifically cardio yoga – it’s a 20 minute workout). And I like Angie Stewart for yoga as well. She has a good yoga fitness fusion video. These are all on Exercise TV (with Comcast OnDemand), but I know that the Jillian Michaels ones are on Amazon and probably the others are available too. Hope this helps 🙂

  3. Oh yum about the peanut butter cup – you’re basically making just your own, which is so much better than the highly processed pb cup!

    I really don’t know much about cardio videos though, sorry!

  4. i’ve never actually tried chicken sausage – i’m not a huge sausage fan, but if it’s not too pork-y i should give it a go!

    i like the billy blanks bootcamp dvds we have at home – when my mum tried it (her first and last time haha) she got a seriously good workout and could hardly move her muscles the next day!

  5. I LOVE Dr. McDougall products!!

    Favorite cardio DVD = 10-minute solution series (Carb Burner, Fat-Burning Dance Party, Pilates…)

  6. Loooove chicken sausage!! I actually have a few suggestions for indoor cardio. I am a huge fan of Denise Austin workout tapes. I know it sounds cheesy, but the fat-burning Dance Mix DVD is so much fun! It’s a bunch of dances that she walks you through that make you feel every muscle in your body. Also the “Boot Camp” DVD is amazingly intense. I love how upbeat she is during the whole thing too! http://deniseaustin.shop.sportstoday.com/Dept.aspx?cp=11491_11998

    For something that’s fun (and a little naughty) I also like Carmen Electra’s Aerobic Striptease tapes. Seriously sooo much fun! She has some great toning exercises and tips for improving flexibility. Enjoy!!

  7. That chicken sausage sounds amazing! 🙂

  8. I like the walk away the pounds dvd’s, they are great, they have them from 15 mins all the way to an hour with lots of variety.

  9. I like to play ddr for exercise. It’s not quite an work-out video, but it’s a fun way to get yourself moving. Stepmania is a great emulator, and so she can download hundreds (thousands?) of songs.

    In terms of the dance-pad, I usually don’t even use one, and just jump around looking silly but having fun. Otherwise, you can get a dance pad for about 50 and then a PS2-USB converter for about 15.


Leave a Reply

Categories

