Posted by: Hil | October 31, 2008

Happy Halloween

SV403056

Happy Halloween everyone!  The husband and I don’t have anything terribly exciting planned…we’re just going to stay in, watch movies, and hand out candy to any children who come by.  We aren’t sure if there are any families with kids in our apartment complex, but we are prepared!  I feel very strongly that adults should suck it up and buy delicious candy for trick-or-treating children.  None of this “if I buy gross candy, then I won’t endanger my diet” nonsense.  As far as I am concerned, the entire point of Halloween is for kids to run around in costume and get massively high off of sugar.  I remember how excited I was when I got Reese’s peanut butter cups, so those were a must buy.  Hanuta cookies are less well known, but the adventuresome kids will be in for a treat.  Hanuta cookies are wonderful German sandwich cookies with a chocolate hazelnut filling.  Imagine wafer cookies with Nutella and crushed hazelnuts in the middle and you’ll get the idea.  Very yummy.

Funny story about me and Halloween candy:  When I was seven, I got home from trick-or-treating, sat down at the kitchen table, and requested a big plate of bell pepper sticks to eat before I started digging in on my candy.  I was a weird kid.

Since I am not dressing up this year, I thought that I would reminisce a little and share some of my recent Halloween costumes.  You will notice a common thread running through them.  They are all nerdy beyond belief. 

2003:  Me as my childhood hero, Velma Dinkley from Scooby-Doo.  You can’t really see in the picture, but I had red Mary-Janes and everything.

Me as Velma velma

2005:  Me and the Lemonator as Bunsen and Beaker from the Muppets.  It took me a very long time to get my hair to stand up like that! 

bunsen and beaker bunsen_and_beaker 

2006:  Me as a Roschach inkblot.  I am most proud of this one.  I folded an old pillow case in half and poured calligraphy ink on it so that the ink soaked through.  I touched up any faded spots with a sharpie pen, then cut and reinforced holes for my arms and head.  The Lemonator went as a psychiatrist and ran around with a notebook asking people what they thought my inkblot looked like.  We had a pretty funny assortment by the end.

Haloween2006 011 untitled  

How about you guys?  What was your all-time favorite Halloween costume?  What are you dressing up as this year?

Responses

  1. Those cookies sound dangerous.

    The ink blot looks like a woman’s innards.

  2. Reese’s were my favorites too 🙂 I have to go out and buy them on my way home from work today. Those cookies sound yummy… I’ve never had them. I’m not dressing up either, but I am wearing an orange skirt and a black shirt, just to be festive.

    When I was little I had a lot of favorite costumes – a pumpkin (this was adorable – I was about 6?), a witch, a bag of jelly beans, a dutch girl (with wooden clogs!)… I don’t remember what else. Those are the best though.

    Happy Halloween!

  3. I have never heard of Hanutas before, but you have me intrigued! I will have to look for them next time I’m at the store. I, too, am a fan of Reese, thos and Kit Kats are my all time favorite candies!

    Of course my favorite costume was my present costume! I like all of yours! So creative and original. 🙂

  4. I love the Velma costume! And a Roschach ink blot?? So incredibly creative!! Those hanuta cookies look awesome, and I agree – why not get something you like on Halloween? If you eat healthy most of the time, why not indulge a little?

  5. HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE your past costumes!! Too fun 😀

  6. GREAT COSTUMES!! You are so creative 🙂 Have a great night!

  7. Oh my goodness I love your costumes! The inkblot is priceless.

    I really liked my Xena costume one year. It was awesome.

    Also I like your attitude towards the giving out candy- I wish I had liked Reese’s cups when I was little! I didn’t discover the joy of them until this past year:O

  8. I’m dying! Dying! Those costumes are BRILLIANT! WOW! The Rorschach is the ULTIMATE.

  9. oh wow! so creative!!!

  10. I was very close to going as velma this year!!! Here are my recent costumes (and my favorites):

    2008: tippi hedren from the birds

    2007: audrey hepburn from breakfast at tiffany’s

    2006: 50s housewife


Leave a Reply

Categories

