Posted by: Hil | November 4, 2008

Election Day

Happy election day, everyone!  I hope you all did your civic duty and got lots of freebies for doing so.  My polling place was a hip megachurch with its own coffee shop, and they were giving away free cups of organic fair trade coffee to people leaving the polls.  Fine by me!  Today was very exciting for me because I had the opportunity to vote for an important local measure that I helped create during my last summer internship.  It was so cool to look at something on the ballot and be able to say, “I helped put that there.”  Now, I just hope it passes!

SV403111 

Because of the Thankgiving challenge, I have been eating a lot less meat and cheese and no yogurt…too expensive.  As a result, my body is getting grouchy with me and demanding to know where its protein is.  For tonight, I pacified my stomach with a herb and chevre omelet and a side salad with arugula and white balsamic vinaigrette.  (Spicy arugula + sweet white balsamic = delicious.)  This was exactly what I wanted and I feel much better.  But I think I need to figure out more ways to get cheap protein in my diet.  To that end, tonight I am going to attempt an experiment:  homemade yogurt.  I don’t have any special equipment, but I found a recipe that doesn’t look too difficult.  And I know that making my own yogurt will be less expensive than shelling out for Greek yogurt at the grocery store.  Wish me luck.

I have yogurt to make and news to watch, so this will be a short post.  See you all tomorrow!

Responses

  1. I only got a sticker 😦 But hey, it’s better than nothing!

  2. wow, making your own yogurt – very brave! good luck!! i agree, protein is so essential for satisfaction for me, and always wish there were cheaper ways to get it in. maybe i should start eating more lentils..

  3. Lovely dinner!! So fresh and colorful.

  4. Rock on for making your own yogurt. I have toyed with the idea but have never actually attempted it.

  5. Cant wait to hear more about yogurt making. My mom knows how to make a vietnamese style yogurt, but I have yet to try it. But it is a thick yogurt, kind of like greek, I think.

    Anyhow, great job on voting! And free coffee? Even better!


Leave a Reply

Categories

