Posted by: Hil | November 5, 2008

Roasted Vegetables and Chicken

SV403125

To me, this is the quintessential fall meal.  It takes little effort, it makes the best of seasonal produce, and you cook it all in one dish.  What could be better?  Leeks were cheap at the farmers market, so I bought a big bunch of them this weekend.  I adore leeks…the sweet, mild, onion-y flavor is divine.  I also included some of the farmers market carrots, which were the most tender and flavorful I have ever tasted.  I put the veggies in the bottom of a baking dish and topped with the chicken.  To give the chicken extra flavor, I put some minced sage leaves under the chicken skin–this step is yummy, but not necessary.  I drizzled the whole thing with olive oil, seasoned with salt and pepper, and roasted for 45 minutes at 400 degrees.  This dish is basic, but so soul-satisfying.

I find it ironic that thus far during the Thanksgiving challenge, I have been eating better than I was before I started the challenge.  I think it’s because I have to consciously think ahead and plan my meals to make sure I’m staying on budget.  And when I actually take the time to plan, I’m capable of coming up with some pretty tasty, fresh dishes, even on a limited budget.

I was too busy watching the election last night to make yogurt, so it’s in the works right now.  I’m also working on making a batch of stock…no more Imagine vegetable broth for me until the challenge is over.  I will report back tomorrow on the results of both experiments.  Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. that’s great that this challenge is improving your diet even more – i can see why, and from looking at this meal, it definitely looks so too!

  2. LOVE the roasted vegetables – yum!!

    You’re doing fabulously with the challenge!!

    Good luck with the experiments!!

  3. Sounds heavenly!

  4. oh my… leeks! I had forgotten about them completely until now. you do wonders with them!

  5. That’s an interesting point about your eating changing during the challenge.

  6. That’s great that you’re eating better with the challenge- almost would have thought that the reverse could potentially happen. Good for you!

  7. I loved roasted anything. I think it’s really interesting that the planning is causing you to eat better. I guess you’re proving health doesn’t need to be expensive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

