Posted by: Hil | November 5, 2008

Sweet Pumpkin and Apple Omelet

SV403121

I was up late watching the polls (some major state initiatives are still too close to call) and when I woke up, I was grouchy and completed uninterested in a nice, soothing bowl of oats.  I wandered into the kitchen to work out some of my bad mood.  My family always claims that my cooking is the best when I’m in a really bad mood, and today was no exception.

Sweet omelets aren’t really an American thing.  I read about them in an old British mystery novel when I was a kid and was completely entranced with the idea.  Since then, they have become an old favorite.  I have absolutely no idea if I prepare them correctly, but they taste yummy.  Usually, I just beat a bit of sugar into the eggs and fill the middle with jam or fruit sauce.  But today, I was in the mood for something more adventuresome.

I beat two eggs with a heaping tablespoon of canned pumpkin puree and a splash of milk.  I flavored it with a couple teaspoons of brown sugar, some cinnamon and nutmeg, and a pinch of salt.  Meanwhile, I thinly sliced half an apple and microwaved it for three minutes with cinnamon and finely diced crystallized ginger.  Next, I melted butter in a pan and added the egg mixture.  (Remember:  the keys to omelets are butter and low heat!)  When it was just about set, I added the cooked apples along with an extra sprinkle of brown sugar.  I didn’t really take into account that the sweetened, pumpkinized egg mixture produced a more delicate omelet than a standard savory one, so perhaps something as heavy as apple slices wasn’t the best filling.  The omelet fell apart when I got it out of the pan.  But it tasted amazing.  The fluffy, pumpkiny outside tasted amazing with the sweet apples on the inside, and the flavor of the ginger really permeated the dish.  Fantastic.  Next time, I think I will add a little less pumpkin and milk and see what I can do to make the filling a little more delicate.  Thinner and fewer apple slices maybe?   Or just a smooth filling?  We shall see.  But this was too tasty not to repeat.  And it definitely did the trick of improving my mood!

Responses

  1. Awwh Hil! I’m sorry you’re feeling a little grump! Pr were – that omelet sounds crazy good. Next time I’m feeling grouchy I’ll hit you up. 🙂

  2. Loooove pumpkin & apple!!

  3. This looks SO amazing. I have to try it. Wow.

    I’m nervous about some of the CA state props that are finalized yet… gah.

  4. That sounds amazing! Such a good idea for an omelet.

  5. A sweet omelet is nothing I have ever thought of before. I can’t wait to try it!

  6. fantastic-sounding omelet!!

  7. This is so interesting. I’ve never heard of “sweet” eggs before. I definitely have a sweet tooth in the morning and can’t usually eat savory dishes until after at least 11 am…. this is bad, because my lack of protein breakfasts don’t last too long. This would be a great way to have a sweet breakfast and eat my eggs at the same time. Thank you for sharing.

  8. wow – a sweet omelette! you always come up wih genius ideas.

  9. Wow, it looks great! Yummy!

    Thanks for sharing!

  10. That is a crazy combination! But I have to admit – it looks DELICIOUS!

    sorry about your bad mood!


Leave a Reply

Categories

