Posted by: Hil | November 6, 2008

The Results are In

SV403129 

This morning, I reattempted my sweet pumpkin omelet from yesterday with dabs of nut butter in the middle and some apple slices on the side.  This stayed together much better and still tasted delicious.  These sweet pumpkin omelets are really satisfying and filling, so I think I may continue to experiment with them.

Dinner tonight was Crock Pot soup with chickpeas, leeks, canned tomato and onion, garnished with chevre and fresh parsley.  Not bad at all!  This was my first time attempting to use dried chickpeas.  They came out al dente, but tasted very good.  And I used my very own homemade stock that I whipped up last night!  It wasn’t very interesting stock, but it was my first time, so I was excited.  I filled a big soup pot with the tops from the leeks, the green tops from last night’s carrots, a handful of baby carrots, a bunch of herbs and two bullion cubes.  I boiled the whole thing for a few hours and then drained the liquid.  It ended up tasting mostly like leeks, which was fine…it served to give some flavor to my soup, and that was the important thing.

SV403133

To go with the soup, the husband made whole wheat popovers.  We don’t have a popover tin–only a muffin tin–so they didn’t come out the right shape, but they still tasted delicious.  If you’ve never had a popover, you should really try one.  They are hard to describe…a little bit like a biscuit, but fluffier and eggier.  They are crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside.  They are one of my favorite things to eat with vegetable soup for a light dinner.

SV403132 

Whole Wheat Popovers

recipe from Suzanne Somers’ Eat Great, Lose Weight

1 cup nonfat milk
1 tablespoon melted butter
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 400° F.  Butter a popover pan or large muffin tin.  Nonstick spray also works fine.

In a large bowl, beat the milk, butter, flour and salt together until smooth.  Add the eggs, one at a time, being careful not to over beat them.  Fill the popover or muffin cups 3/4 full.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Without opening the oven door, turn the heat down to 350° F and Bake an additional 20 minutes. Serve immediately.

 

Yogurt making

Last night I also got around to making yogurt for the first time!  I used a recipe in French Women Don’t Get Fat that was very easy.  All you need is low fat milk and a couple tablespoons of plain yogurt for starter (I used the last dregs of my TJ’s Greek yogurt).  First, you heat up the milk in a saucepan until bubbles start to form.  Then you turn off the heat and let the milk cool until it is cool enough to place your index finger in for 20 seconds (115 degrees).  Next, transfer the milk to a large bowl.  Take a little bit of the milk and add it to your yogurt in a smaller bowl, mixing thoroughly.  Then, take the yogurt-milk mixture and add it back to the larger bowl, mixing thoroughly.  Cover the bowl with a heavy towel and place in a warm place for 6-8 hours or overnight.  I used my oven (turned off) with a big pot of hot water next to it to keep the temperature up during the night.  The next day, give the yogurt a good stir and refrigerate for 6-8 hours. 

I followed all the instructions, and sure enough, I got yogurt!  My yogurt is definitely thinner and more liquid-y than grocery store yogurt, especially Greek yogurt, but it has a very nice fresh taste.  I think I will eat it with fruit and oatmeal as is for a few days, but eventually I will try straining some to see how that changes the texture.  I’ll keep you posted!

Responses

  1. ahhhhh i cant wait for home made omelots! and thank you for posting (and cooking) using the crock pot–you reminded me of the one i have at home & this looks like a deliciously healthy recipe! Eatliverun.com also posted a recipe on how to make ur own greek yogurt from generic types..hmmmm!! :o) this looks good too!

  2. Ooh, I can’t wait to hear how it turns out Hil!

  3. I love FWDGF 🙂 So many great recipes and ideas. Very cool about the yogurt – I will have to try sometime.

  4. Wow, definitely a success for you with the yogurt making – can’t wait to see it!

    And mmm, great eats for the day. Thanks for sharing the recipe too!

  5. great popovers! neer made any before, this looks like a good place to start.

  6. Looove the crockpot soup and popovers!!

  7. Thanks for the popover recipe!

  8. Your crockpot creation looks delicious – although as soon as I saw “chickpeas” – I was sold 🙂

  9. P.S. I’m adding you to my blogroll!

  10. Very cool that you made your own yogurt!

    And your popovers look delicious, I will definitely be making those (but in muffin shape as I also lack a popover pan).

    You’re making me want a pumpkin omelet:)

  11. […] I’ve already posted the simple method to homemade yogurt, but here are some […]

  12. This is so cool. I definitely want to give it a try soon!

    Also, thanks for explaining the difference between instant oats and non-instant oats in a comment on eatliverun. I also find the instant do not fill me up for breakfast (good for a snack) and now I have a much better understanding for why. It makes total sense.

    Heather

  13. Mmmm those popovers look delicious. I heard that those are really low in cals and fat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

