Posted by: Hil | November 7, 2008

Homemade Yogurt

I’ve already posted the simple method to homemade yogurt, but I thought I would share some pictures of my results.

Exhibit A:  the yogurt at the completion of the process described in the above link.  It tastes mild and fresh, but definitely yogurt-ish.  The texture is much thinner than normal yogurt…more like a thick soup.  It was still delicious.  I had a bowl for breakfast along with a leftover popover and a piece of fruit.

SV403141 

Exhibit B:  The yogurt after I strained it for a few hours using a paper towel-lined kitchen strainer.  At this point it was pretty much the consistency and flavor of Greek yogurt:  tart and thick and creamy.  This was dessert with dinner.

SV403142

Verdict: fresh made yogurt is delicious and not very difficult at all.  You can make it at home for much cheaper than you can buy it (especially if you like Greek, as I do).  I think I am going to be eating a lot of this stuff over the next month.  After that, we’ll see.  The process isn’t difficult, but it does take awhile.  Over the next month I’ll see whether preparing it falls naturally into my routine or ends up being more trouble than it’s worth for everyday.  Regardless, this will probably come in very handy as a cost-cutting measure from time to time, especially during the summer when I eat a lot of yogurt.  The results are delicious, so I’m definitely not complaining.

On the subject of yogurt, this is months old but hilarious.  “Get it?  It’s not real food…it’s yogurt!”

Responses

  1. Wow, thanks for sharing that link! It was hilariously funny, but provided some insight too! I really never have seen a commercial that has men as the main focus for yogurt. The women is usually the lead.

    Anyhow, the yogurt looks great, and I am glad it wasn’t difficult – makes me interested in trying when I get the chance too! Cheers!

  2. this looks so easy and simple, and cheap! though i have to say, there doesn’t seem to be a huge difference in price between greek and regular yogurt in london…. maybe it’s different here? hmm.

  3. So creamy-looking!

  4. i have seen alot of woman start doing this on their blogs, it looks awesome. i wonder if i can do it with Yoplus digestive yogurt hahaha…in my dorm, do u think my roomy would think im a total freak?!! !!

  5. I love the Greek yogurt, so I am sure I would love this. I need to look at your recipe, b/c I have been dying to make homemade yogurt and I am always tempted to buy one of those machines (probably unnecessary) when my cooking catalogs some along.

    Thanks for the info about the olive oil, too!

  6. Yum, that WOULD be way cheaper. And so much fun!

    I’ve made cheese from yogurt, but never yogurt from milk and yogurt… hmm, I wonder if you could go so far as to turn milk and yogurt into yogurt and then turn that into cheese? Could be an interesting experiment:)

  7. Lee–I have no idea if straining would work with flavored yogurt or yogurt with fiber added. I’ve only tried it with plain.

    Alexandra–I was looking at thsoe yogurt makers, too. I think the main benefit they provide is a way to keep the yogurt at a consistently warm temperature. So if you can find or create a warm place to let the yogurt set, you don’t need a macine. I’m still trying to decide if I might want to invest in one eventually.

    Sagan–I don’t see why you couldn’t make yogurt cheese from milk…it’s all a matter of how long you strain it!

  8. hahah oh my, the yogurt video is HILARIOUS and sadly, SO TRUE.

    i hate stuff like that! damn targeted advertising.

  9. you’ve been tagged – see my blog for details 🙂

  10. I just saw Jenna do that too – it looks pretty simple – and it really tastes that much different?


Leave a Reply

Categories

