Posted by: Hil | November 11, 2008

Veterans Day

Happy Veterans Day, everyone!  I had a wonderful holiday weekend with my old college friends.  This will once again be a quick post.

For Monday night dinner, the Lemonator made homemade pizza with whole wheat crust and part-skim mozzarella.  Half was plain cheese and half was topped with spinach and leeks.  Yum. 

SV403166 

I, of course, had a slice with plenty of veggies.  (I had another slice cold for breakfast this morning!)

SV403167

The visiting Roommate is one of the best bakers I know and she made chocolate lava cakes for dessert to celebrate the judicial externship I just landed.  (Yay!)  These were to die for.  They were exactly my kind of dessert:  Chocolate and butter with just enough flour to hold it all together.  The middle was gooey and amazing.

SV403170 

Today, we stayed in and played board games all day with the house guests.  It was fabulous fun.  For dinner, we ended up having a raclette party.  Raclette is a Swiss tradition that I like to describe as the grill-lover’s answer to fondue.  It’s a Christmas Eve tradition at the in-law’s house.  Basically, it’s a little double layered grill suitable for melting and grilling up various things.  So you bring a big dish of boiled potatoes, a tray of cheese slices, and a variety of toppings.  You mash up some potato, top with cheese and whatever toppings you feel like, place it in the little individual trays, and place it in the raclette until it melts.  It’s a slow, sociable sort of dinner.

SV403172

Here is my first one:  potato topped with fresh herbs, leeks and salami.  Yum.

SV403174

The Lemonator’s favorite thing to do is grill cheese slices on the top to form crackers.  (So good!)  The Roommate was entranced with this idea and proceeded to one-up him by sprinkling minced herbs into her cheese cracker.  Raclette produces the most amazing improvisations.

SV403173   

All in all, the weekend was amazing.  I miss these guys so much and I don’t get to see them nearly often enough, so it was such a treat to have them here!

Thanksgiving Challenge update:  we spent $21.60 on groceries this week, not counting food purchased for friends.  Our total included eggs, milk, flour, apples, leeks, spinach, rosemary and a big head of cauliflower.  We ended up not counting a bottle of wine and some cheese and extra apples that we purchased for our guests.  Those were things that we wouldn’t have purchased just for ourselves, and since we fed our friends mostly with food items that we were counting toward our total, we figured it balanced out. 

I hope everyone had a lovely holiday!

Responses

  1. Happy Veterans’ Day to you too! Your posts always make me hungry. It’s midnight and now I’m craving lava cake!! I definitely need to find some deliciously decadent dessert sometime soon and splurge, because I haven’t done the rich dessert thing in a while. Yay for pizza for breakfast 🙂

  2. Happy belated Veterans Day!!

    Looks like you had a lot of fun and delicious eats!! Such an amazing weekend, indeed.

    Good luck with the rest of the challenge!!

  3. That pizza looks FANTASTIC!

  4. That sounds like so much fun! I love hearing about other cultural traditions and whatnot. I’m glad you had a blast.

  5. RACLETTE! I eat that every christmas!! <3<3<3

  6. That all sounds so delicious!

    The cake especially. And I love homemade pizza.

  7. ummm pizza recipe? please? 🙂

  8. BeeElle–no problem. I’ll ask the husband to post it tonight, along with the cinnamon cake recipe.

  9. Nice job on the thanksgiving challenge!

    That pizza looks – TDF! 🙂

  10. Happy belated Veterans day! Great job on the Thanksgiving Challenge – AND MMMMMMMM PIZZAAA!!!! LOL

  11. […] tonight, then coming home and having a raclette dinner before opening presents.  (I’ve posted about raclette before, but nothing beats Christmas Eve raclette with the German in-laws.)  I hope everyone has a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

