Posted by: Hil | December 2, 2008

Soup’s On

SV403305

Unfortunately, my dear husband has come down with the same virus that I had over the weekend.  This thing is one of the nastier bugs I have seen in recent memory, and he isn’t in very good shape right now.  This evening, he managed to drink some Sprite and eat a little bit of ramen soup, so I think he is at least on the mend.  As for me, I’m feeling a lot better than I was last Thursday, but I still can’t quite manage to choke down a normal meal…I have no appetite and all I can stand to eat is fruit juice, clear soup, and saltine crackers.  The above was my dinner for tonight:  a simple soup of leeks, carrots, mushrooms (dried), rosemary and parsley simmered in good broth.  It was delicious and easy.  I only managed a few bites, but this means that I have leftovers for tomorrow.  I also have some amazingly creamy cauliflower curry soup in the fridge that my mom sent me home with, so if I just stock up on crackers tomorrow, I will be in good shape.

On the positive side, today the LA weather finally got cold enough for me to pull out last year’s Christmas present from the Lemonator: a gorgeous, soft cashmere sweater in my favorite shade of blue.  I realized about half way through the day that this sweater looks very different on me now than it did a year (and over 10 pounds)ago.  I always thought of this sweater (like most cold weather clothes) as a rather forgiving item of clothing, so I was very surprised that I noticed any difference, but there it was…the husband even commented on it from his sick bed.  Moments like that make me happy.  I don’t spend a lot of time thinking about my weight these days, but every now and then, it’s nice to remember that I’ve accomplished a lot.  Obviously, I look different now than I did a year ago, but I’m even more happy about the changes in my outlook.  I am comfortable in my skin and I honestly like my body.  I don’t choose my clothes based on what I think will hide my body anymore.  And I have learned to take a compliment.  I am very thankful for all of those things.

Responses

  1. Oooh, I am sorry you are still sick. I hope you get back to 100% before finals. Way to learn to take a compliment. I know it can be hard. 😀

  2. Ahhh, I’m praying that you two get 100% well soon!!

  3. hey great blog you have here!
    that is great the changes you have been going through – even beyond physical!

  4. That last paragraph nailed it- it’s so good to feel happy about the way we look but also our entire outlook!

    That cauliflower soup sounds so good.

  5. Hope you both feel better soon!

  6. GET WELL SOOON!


Leave a Reply

Categories

