Posted by: Hil | December 24, 2008

White Christmas

SV403437

Greetings from snowy Seattle!  Yes, you heard right.  Seattle is covered in snow and we managed to make it here safely after a slough of canceled and delayed flights.  Seattle typically doesn’t get much snow, so there is a decided shortage of snow ploughs and the roads are covered with snow and ice.  (There is a road underneath the snow in the picture above.)  As a result, we’ve been pretty much snowed in and haven’t left the house much.  We did, however, have the opportunity to make a snowman!

SV403441

Last night we managed to creep our way to town to get a delicious Thai dinner and see a production of the Nutcracker.  I ordered a spicy mixed vegetable dish with eggplant, green beans, tomato, bamboo and tofu. It was delicious and there was enough leftover to have for lunch today.  Yum.  I think I might be able to replicate this at home if I can just figure out what was in the sauce.  I really want someone to teach me a primer on different basic Asian sauces! 

SV403443 

For dessert, I had a slice of some pumpkin-cranberry loaf that my sister-in-law made.  She got the recipe from Cooking Light, and it’s available online here.

SV403448

We’re all going to be singing for Christmas Eve service tonight, then coming home and having a raclette dinner before opening presents.  (I’ve posted about raclette before, but nothing beats Christmas Eve raclette with the German in-laws.)  I hope everyone has a happy, safe Christmas with good food and no flight delays!

Responses

  1. Wishing you a magnificent holiday! Enjoy it 🙂

  2. MERRY CHRISTMAS, HIL!!!

  3. Oh my gosh, I love the snowman!!!!!
    HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

  4. THanks for the recipe link! Pacific NW is the most beautiful place in the world! 🙂 Merry Christas!

  5. Merry Christmas! Cute snowman.


Leave a Reply

Categories

