Posted by: Hil | January 5, 2009

Dark Chocolate Lava Cakes

CIMG0340

I’m back!  I had terrible technical difficulties during my week in Northern California and couldn’t upload any of my photos, so this post was a bit late in coming.  But rest assured, I ate lots of good food over the weekend and I have lots of great recipes coming in the next few days.

As a bit of an apology present, I present you with one of the recipe highlights of my week: dark chocolate lava cakes.  I got this recipe from the Roommate, and decided to present it as the finale to my family’s annual New Year’s tapas party.  Blueberry Mom and Blueberry Sis absolutely flipped over it.  These cakes are incredibly dense, dark, rich and chocolaty.  They are small, but a couple of decadent bites are completely satisfying.  And best of all, they are incredibly quick and simple to make.  What better way to ring in the new year than with chocolate?

Dark Chocolate Lava Cakes

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 6 oz chocolate (semi-sweet or dark)
  • 6 T butter, diced
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Melt chocolate in a double boiler.  Stir in butter until melted and smooth.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat eggs and sugar.
  4. Stir chocolate mixture into eggs, then add the flour and mix until smooth.
  5. Butter four 5 oz. ramekins (or use cooking spray).  Pour batter into ramekins. 
  6. Bake ramekins for roughly 10 to 12 minutes.  You can adjust baking time up or down depending on how gooey you want them.  The tops should not look completely set if you want the middle to be properly gooey.
  7. When the cakes are done to your liking, remove them from the oven and invert them onto dessert plates.  They should slide out easily.
  8. Serve.  If you want, you can add powdered sugar, berries, raspberry sauce, whipped cream or ice cream as a garnish, but these are very rich and are delicious on their own.
Responses

  1. Welcome back!!

    Oh my GOODNESS does that cake look good – holy yum.

  2. Oh my, what a simple recipe! I like that. Seems like a great date dinner dessert =] Thanks!

  3. Looks like the perfect dessert for a dinner party. I will have to keep this in mind!

  4. I’m droooling!! Looks amazing!

  5. OH MY! If I still had an oven in my hands, I would totally be making that!!

  6. What a gorgeous cake! I love it. Thanks for sharing.

  7. That looks heavenly!!

  8. oh boy that looks yummy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

