Posted by: Hil | January 10, 2009

Happy Friday

CIMG0416

I’d honestly forgotten how great Fridays feel when you’re in the work world and you’re actually, truly done for the week at the end of the day on Friday.  Students may not have class on weekends, but the homework never ends!  I was in a very good mood yesterday–my externship is going great thus far, and I couldn’t wait for the start of the weekend.  I took myself out to lunch at a nearby fast-food Middle Eastern place with surprisingly healthy options.  I ordered falafel with salad, pita and hummus.  It wasn’t earth shatteringly amazing, but it was tasty and it felt good to my body.  Next week, I’m going to start packing my own lunches, but it’s always good to have a backup lunch plan.

I’d been planning on staying in and polishing off the last my vegetable soup tonight, but for some reason, I just couldn’t shake the urge to go out.  I was very torn for a few minutes because while I wanted the trappings of going out (an excuse to put on a pretty dress, a change of scenery and a drink); my body was craving something light and healthful for dinner.  But on a winter day, your average salad joint was not going to hit the spot, and the Lemonator was agitating for some place where he could get something hearty to eat.  We eventually came up with an excellent solution.  We went to our favorite Mexican/Salvadorean restaurant:  I got sopa de siete mares and he got a tasty dish of carnitas drowned in delicious sauce.  This soup is amazing, amazing stuff and incredible bargain.  You may not be able to tell from the picture, but that bowl is HUGE.  The base is a light fragrant vegetable broth with generous chunks of carrot, celery and tomato, and the soup is absolutely overflowing with every kind of seafood you could think of: crab, scallops, shrimp, calamari, halibut, you name it.  It’s the perfect meal when you want something light, but soul satisfying, and it tastes great on a winter day.  I couldn’t come close to finishing everything in my bowl, so I brought home the leftovers.  I know what today’s lunch will be!

CIMG0421

Responses

  1. Fabulous Friday & Falafel!!! 😀

  2. mmmmmmmm all that yummy seafood!

  3. I totally know what you mean about having an actual weekend and being finished on Fridays – have a good time!

  4. I mean this in the kindest way possible (rather than the taunting way), but when you’re a lwayer, you’re work week does not end. Please enjoy school while you’re there!!!!

    Anyway, I enjoy your lunch. It looks like my kind of thing.

  5. I mean this in the kindest way possible (rather than the taunting way), but when you’re a lawyer, your work week does not end. Please enjoy school while you’re there!!!!

    Anyway, I enjoy your lunch. It looks like my kind of thing.

  6. Hangry Pants–I know that lawyers pretty much work all the time, but I think that people working non-salaried positions of whatever kind typically do get a true weekend off…I always have in my various summer jobs.

  7. Glad that you treated yourself. Wish it could have been a bit tastier for you, but it looks really photogenic at least 🙂

    That soup looks so cool! I love the legs coming out of the bowl.


Leave a Reply

Categories

