Posted by: Hil | January 11, 2009

I Love Costco

CIMG0428

I can’t believe how fast the weekend went by!  The food highlight of my weekend was a trip to Costco, where I acquired many exciting items.  The first was surprisingly tasty guacamole in vacuum sealed packages.  I froze two containers and broke into the third.  I spread some on a slice of toasted Ezekiel bread to complement my leftover seafood soup. 

Exciting acquisition #2 was a very tasty bottle of wine.  I rarely buy wine anywhere other than Costco because I think the deals are so great there and I’m rarely disappointed.  I confess that I am one of those silly people who picks wines in large part based on prettiness of label or catchiness of brand name, but I luck out often enough with this strategy that I’m disinclined to change.  I tried out some “7 Deadly Zins” which turned out to be very drinkable and yummy.  Even the Lemonator liked it.  I’m not one to get fancy with my wine descriptions, but it tasted almost cinnamon-y to me.  I ate a piece of dark chocolate with it for dessert and the pairing worked very nicely.

CIMG0434

The third exciting acquisition was a large jar of Costco pesto, which was put to use on a whole wheat pita pizza for the Lemonator.  I had a taste of his, and it was delicious.  My pizza, on the right, was tomato sauce, part-skim mozzarella, spinach, garlic and crushed red pepper. 

CIMG0444

I’m heading to bed…my judge hears motions tomorrow, so it should be an interesting day.  I hope everyone had a good weekend!

Responses

  1. The weekend definitely flew by!!

    Mmm, avocado.

  2. YUM! Those pizzas look fantastic (and of course so does the wine!) 🙂

  3. I’ve had that guacamole and it is pretty good!

    It was a pizza weekend for sure.

  4. I choose my wine based on the label, not going to lie. That bottle looks awesome:)

  5. That’s how I pick out my wines too, and I’m rarely disappointed. Although, I think I’m always just happy to be drinking wine.

  6. costco would def. be the highlight of my weekend too. i haven’t been in soo long!

  7. Oh wow, gotta love Costco. Great finds there, that’s for sure! Love the pizza that you made with the pesto!

  8. I love Costco, too! My family is a fan of their wine selection, too. I haven’t tried the pesto though – I’ll have to tell my mom about it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

