Posted by: Hil | January 13, 2009

Crock Pot to the Rescue

 CIMG0456

Today, the Lemonator and I whipped up a simple batch of 13 bean crock pot soup for dinner.  We soaked the beans overnight in water and broth last night, then added celery, carrot, onion, canned tomato and seasonings in the morning.  It was done by the time we were home from work.  On the side, I had a piece of toasted Ezekiel bread.  I couldn’t decide whether to spread my bread with pesto or guacamole, so I broke my bread in half and had some of each.  The guacamole was delicious and needed to be eaten up, but there is something really magical about pesto combined with bean soup–I’m even known to dollop pesto straight into my soup on occasion.  I also had another glass of the Seven Deadly Zins and an apple to round out the meal.  It was very satisfying.

Tomorrow will be yoga day.  I am nervous, but also excited.  The yoga studio I’m trying is quite near a healthy restaurant I’ve been wanting to try, so I think I’m going to grab a bite to eat there before my class.  Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. heya love! long time no talk!!!–good luck w/ yoga today- youll do great!!! yoga is AM.AZ.ING (as u prob know) and something i always find so refreshing about it is how amazing & inviting the staff can be!!

  2. goodluck! you’ll love ittt πŸ™‚ hopefully you get to try out the restaurant too!

  3. mmmm..bean soup!

    Good luck with yoga today!

  4. Lovely soup; and hooray for yoga!!

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

  5. 13 bean? That’s crazy! πŸ™‚

  6. Best of luck at yoga. I am sure it will be like you never left. πŸ˜€

  7. What a smart way to enjoy the best of both worlds in terms of toast and spreads! -lol- Love it!

  8. All about the crockpotting. So good in this weather.


Leave a Reply

Categories

