Posted by: Hil | February 12, 2009

Burger Night

CIMG0743

Bison is one of my new favorite meats.  Its a lot like beef, but it’s healthier and tastes much more flavorful.  When I make burgers at home, I always eat them sans bun with a side of good mustard.  I vary my sides, but tonight I made seared spinach and sauteed mushrooms.  Sauteed mushrooms are one of my favorite side dishes…they are flavorful and voluminous and provide a nice contrast to just about any meat and vegetable.  Furthermore, I can think of very few other side dishes that can so easily transition from burger night to special occasion.  Cutting them can be a bit tedious, but I can find pre-sliced button mushrooms at the grocery store for the same price as whole.  If it’s a special occasion, I’ll slice the mushrooms by hand, as I like them a bit thinner than the pre-cut ones at the store, but for every day, I go for convenience over culinary perfection.  Once the mushrooms are cut, the process is pretty simple:  cook them in a pan over medium heat with a little butter or olive oil, add some crushed or minced garlic, and deglaze with white wine or sherry at the very end.  Yummy.

In other news, I was lured by a sale into buying some new exotic flavors of yogurt from a brand called Rachel’s.  I am excited to try them and will report back as to their tastiness or lack thereof.

CIMG0746 

This week has been utterly crazy for me.  We’re still finishing the last bit of unpacking, we’re in the middle of a jury trial at work, and my summer job hunt has exploded.  I’ve interviewed with eight different places in the last five days and I’m in the middle of fielding offers and call-back interviews and other craziness.  On top of that, I have to get ready for the Lemonator’s birthday and a related visit from the in-laws.  I may not be able to post as much as usual this week, and I want to thank everyone for bearing with me!

I will leave you tonight with this amazing parody of chocolate commercials.  Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Uh oh. I fear you might be let down by those yogurts. I am very curious to see what your selective palate thinks!

  2. hahahha I LOVE that chocolate parody. I just saw the new AXE commercial for men (it’s a dark chocolate flavored body wash or spray?) and the dude turns into chocolate and all the women just cannot get away from him. Disgusting, thanks for putting that up!

    And those yogurts are SO expensive, I’d love to hear if you think it’s worth buying them.

    Good luck with all your work and bday planning!

  3. Fun meal!!

    Hang in there with the busyness!!

  4. Hope all goes well!
    Dinner looks amazing!

  5. Hi there, I thought your dinner looked like a restaurant meal and wanted to tell you how awesome it looks!! Also, I LOOOVE trying new exotic flavors of yogurt, so I will definitely be back for those reviews! 🙂

  6. mmmmmm, mushrooms are so good! I’ve been known to saute up a whole pack and eat in one sitting :0)
    Lucky for me nobody in my home likes em, so their all mine!

  7. Wow, good luck with all the craziness, Hil!

    The other day I made tofu and tried your method of letting it drain upright in the tofu container. Worked like a charm! Thanks so much 🙂

  8. Olga–I’ve seen that ad! So terrifying! I actually only bought the yogurts because were on sale for cheaper than any other brand at the grocery store. I have no idea why–perhaps they were having trouble seeling them?

    Hangry Pants–Uh oh? Is there something I should know about these things? I am also amused that my palate is being described as selective. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

