Posted by: Hil | February 22, 2009

Decisions, Decisions

This seems to be a week of difficult decisions around here.  I hate making decisions!  I’m in the final rush of trying to figure out which job offer to accept for the summer.  I think I have it narrowed down to two, which represent great opportunities in my two favorite (and pretty much unrelated) areas of law.  I think either one will be interesting, but I’m stumped trying to pick between them.  One is a different department of the same government agency I worked for last summer, so its basically a known factor in terms of commute, work environment, etc.  The other is more of an unknown.  It’s a much longer commute and it’s less immediately relevant to what I want to do, but its a sort of once-in-a-lifetime work experience that I’m pretty sure I’ll never get the chance to do again.  I need to decide by tomorrow and I am stuck!

On a lighter note, I have to pick which bridesmaid dress to order for my sister’s wedding.  Perhaps you all can help me decide.  Here are my options: 

silk crinkle dresssilk chiffon dress  Lizette dress

I think the one on the left is adorable, but not really my style.  I’m between the strapless one in the middle and the one on the right.  The one on the right is probably the most my style (my wedding dress was also v-neck, v-back and empire waist), but I also like the one in the middle.  Any thoughts?

Life has been pretty busy with work and with interviews, and I realized that I’d been slipping into cooking mostly easy meals that weren’t necessarily well-rounded, so I really strived this week to follow Walter Willett’s advice and eat two servings of green vegetable, one serving of a non-green vegetable, whole grains, protein, and fruit at every dinner.  When we went to Costco last weekend, we bought giant containers of brussel sprouts, spinach, and cherry tomatoes.  For protein, we bought some fish to supplement the frozen chicken and eggs we already had the house.  And, to our great pride, we polished off all of the green veggies over the course of the week.  (Our giant container of tomatoes still has a bit of life left in it.)  I worried that I would get bored with so few things around, but I actually didn’t at all.  The meals themselves were tasty enough that I didn’t mind a little repetition, and I managed to squeeze a surprising amount of variety out of them.  And I definitely felt better once I started eating my produce.  Here is a quick pictoral of my week in food:

CIMG0826 CIMG0847  CIMG0857 CIMG0866 CIMG0869 

Truth be told, the husband coked about half of these meals.  I’m used to being the cook in the family.  It’s not that the Lemonator can’t cook or doesn’t want to–it’s just that I love it so much!  But now that I’m externing and commuting a couple hours every day, he’s been taking on more of the cooking responsibility.  At this point in my life, its a hard balance for me to strike between pursuing interesting academic/career opportunities and making sure I still have enough time to take care of myself, cook, etc.  It’s hard to figure out, but I know I will make something work.

Responses

  1. Personally, I like the dress on the far left the best, but between the other two, go with what you know…the V neck!

    I’m all for adding about 6 hours to the day. I could definitely fill the time!

  2. I love the one on the right (v-neck).

  3. I prefer dress #1.

    Meals look great to me!!

  4. I hate making decisions too! Big or small – it STRESSES me out!

    I like the first one – but all three are ADORABLE!

  5. I like the first one best, but being short with boobs, I would go for the V myself. It’s cute and will probably be the most comfortable.

    More veggies always make me feel better too.

    And, I don’t think you asked, but I think I would take the different job. Or did you ask if you could split the summer?

  6. I like the third one a lot 🙂

  7. They’re all so pretty! If its a toss up between 2 and 3, I’d go for 2 because you’ve had dresses in the same style as 2 before. On the other hand, it’s great to find a style that really suits you…

    Hope you figure out the job stuff! Good luck!

  8. I love the middle one! =D

  9. I vote for the middle one!

  10. Hi! I know you will make the right decision- re: summer job. You are so intelligent and pro-active- either place will be lucky to have you!

    I like both you are considering- I think you should decide based on which you would use more. Do you need a conservative dress to wear to work functions, or do you need a fun cocktail dress?

    Both are so pretty and I think that color will look GREAT with your beautiful skin and chocolate hair!


Leave a Reply

Categories

